伦理生活:施与受

2010年9月29日 星期三 下午4:11 评论关闭

只接受而不布施,看起来就像你免费拿取,而且拿了没有用途的东西,那就是欺骗。业力无处不在……你总有一天要偿还。

尊贵的詹杜固仁波切

业力是因与果的特别例子,我们的所有行动就是因,我们的经历就是果。因果律是最公平的定律,因为它完全不依赖外力运作。国家的自然法则不可靠,因为它是人类制订出来的,面对被操纵,受政治、人类偏差及错误的影响。自然法非常有用因为它协助一个政府及国家维护社会治安与和平。无论如何,它未必提倡公平正义或改善人类的处境。

大部分人或曾观察及面对法律的不公,我们看到有不少犯人逃出法网、无辜者被判刑、懒惰的人生活奢华、刻苦努力的人处境凄苦。

业力可以解释世界的所有不公平现象。无论如何,要了解业力如何运作,我们首先必须相信前世今生。这个信仰非常关键,果报需要长时间来成熟,即今世的行动(因)可能在未来世得到果报(果)。

那些一味索取的人—可以被称为寄生虫、白吃白拿或爱占便宜的人,或许以为只要静悄悄地做或“好人”没有阻止他们这样做,自己就可继续这样下去。无论如何,白吃白拿的人面对的果报跟小偷或贪婪之人无异。

贪婪、只受不施会导致一个人来世投生为饿鬼。慷慨的人来世会投生为资源丰富的人或神仙。

有鉴于此,那些经常白吃白拿却 一毛 不拔的人,今世或许看起来享尽好运;不过只要时间一到,果报成熟时,就会承受他们应承受的苦。他们大多可能来世投生为永远无法吃饱的饿鬼。即便投生为人,他们也会是个穷光蛋;即使身上有钱,也会转眼失去,也无法觅得一份工作或得到他人的帮助,所以总处于穷困之中。

这正是果报在未来世成熟的例子。如果他们的果报在今世成熟,他们就会在今世失去朋友、家人及财产。这类果报会在一个人临死时成熟,他会在此时面对遗憾、失望、穷困及孤独的折磨。

你希望享受一些给你带来长期痛苦的短期利益吗?

已停止接受评论

Ethical living: Giving and taking

29 September 2010 - 12:53am Comments Off

Receiving without giving seems like you are getting something for free, and you are getting something for nothing but that is deceptive. Karma is always there…and you have to pay back one way or another.

His Eminence Tsem Rinpoche

The laws of karma is a special instance of the law of cause and effect, whereby all our actions are the causes and our experiences, their effects. Causal laws are the fairest laws as they do not depend on an external agency to operate. Our conventional laws on the other hand, are not reliable because they are man-made and hence subject to manipulation, politics, human bias and errors. Conventional laws are useful because they help governments and nations to maintain peace. However, they do not necessarily promote justice or the human condition.

Most of us will have observed or had experience of unfairness which the laws of our country cannot address. Some examples include people who commit crimes and get away with them, innocent parties who are found guilty, or lazy people who live a life of luxury while good folks eke out a living no matter how much effort they put in.

Karma offers an explanation for the inequalities of the world. However, in order to understand its operation, we need to have a strong belief in past and future lives. This is crucial because the potential for an effect (arising from a cause) may ripen long after an action has been completed – that is, an effect may occur after our present life, and in our future lives.

Those who are always on the take – freeloaders, parasites or whatever they are called – may be under the mistaken impression that they can get away with it simply because they do it sneakily, or because ‘kind’ people allow them to continue their ways. However, those who take without giving back suffer similar karmic repercussions as thieves and greedy people.

Greed and taking without giving both lead to rebirth as hungry ghosts. Generosity on the other hand, leads to an abundance of resources and our rebirth as a human or god.

Therefore those who live their life always taking from others and never giving, may appear to enjoy good fortune during this lifetime. In reality however, in lifetimes to come, the type of karma these people accumulate from always taking will be reflected in the type of suffering they experience later. They will most likely be reborn as hungry ghosts who are never able to fill their stomachs. If they are reborn as humans, they will experience abject poverty and will not be able to hold on to anything for long. If they have money or possessions, they will lose it very easily; they will find it very hard to secure a job or any kind of help and will constantly be in need.

That is considering that the karma ripens in a future life. If their karma ripens in this life, they will lose their friends, family and possessions. The suffering of this type of karma occurs at the moment of death, when the person suffers regret, disappointment, poverty and loneliness.

Do we want short-term gains, only to receive long-term suffering?

Comments are closed.