绘制唐卡

2009年6月3日 星期三 下午4:34 评论关闭

绘制唐卡并不象我们所熟悉的那些普通平面绘画的创作。它由一个可以用来绘画或者是可以刺绣的绘画板,上面裱上一层纺织物,通常是用丝绸来装裱。

唐卡通常能够留存相当长的时间,还能保持其绚丽的光泽。然而其娇弱的特性要求保存在干燥的地方,因为潮湿会损坏丝绸的品质。

传统意义上说,唐卡非常适合于游方僧,因为这些卷轴画很容易卷起来,适合于从一个寺院带到另一个寺院。唐卡充当了“移动的佛像”,用来膜拜,同时也是一种重要的教化工具。举个例子,一个唐卡可以是佛陀生活的图示描述,宗喀巴大师的生活传奇,与大喇嘛有关的历史事件,以及和其他神佛有关的传奇。通过这种方式,唐卡用来作为观想的工具,帮助一个修行的人更接近觉悟。

展示绘制唐卡的艺术

唐卡是在布帛和丝绢上绘成的,绘制唐卡所用的水溶性颜料是天然珍贵的矿物质和有机物。一个唐卡的创作,大部分都是佛教艺术品,也体现了很高的几何学原理。手臂、腿、眼睛、鼻孔和各种仪式法器,都是按照规定的尺度和格线来绘制。一个技艺高深的唐卡画家通常要从大量草图设计中选择一个用于创作作品的主题,同时也会选一些适合的钵和兽入作品中,并确认从形状、尺寸、佛像眼睛、鼻子和嘴唇的角度都正确无误。

整个程序看起来很科学,但往往要求绘制者能深刻理解唐卡主题的象征意义并能抓住其精髓。因为这是一门宗教艺术,所有标志和暗示都必须严格遵循佛经中的指导原则。绘画家必须经过正确的训练,对佛教有足够的认知及理解,并要具备创作一件精准适宜的唐卡的个人背景。

能够拥有自己的唐卡工作室对克切拉妙音艺术坊来说是一种殊荣和加持。我们会不定时举办与这项博大精深艺术形式相关的培训班和研讨会,由资深的唐卡制作工匠和大师来主持。可不要错过啊。

已停止接受评论

Thangka Painting

3 June 2009 - 4:34pm 3 Comments

A thangka painting is not a flat creation like the normal paintings we are familiar with. It consists of a picture panel which can be painted or embroidered, over which an ornate fabric is mounted, and then, over which is laid a cover, usually silk.

Generally, thangkas last a very long time and retain much of their lustre. However, their delicate nature requires they be kept in dry places as moisture deteriorates the quality of the silk.

Traditionally, thangkas were popular among travelling monks because these scroll-like paintings are easily rolled up and transportable from monastery to monastery. Thangkas served as a form of ‘mobile Buddha image’ for worship, as well as an important teaching tool. For example, a thangka could be an illustrative depiction of the Buddha’s life, the life story of Lama Tsongkhapa, historical events concerning High Lamas, or legends associated with other Deities. In this way, thangkas are used as a meditation tool to help bring one closer to the path of Enlightenment.

A visiting artist demonstrates the art of thangka painting

Thangkas are painted on cotton canvas or silk with water soluble pigments, both mineral and organic, tempered with a herb and glue solution. The composition of a thangka, as with the majority of Buddhist art, is highly geometric. Arms, legs, eyes, nostrils, ears and various ritual implements are all laid out on a systematic grid of angles and intersecting lines. A skilled thangka artist will generally select from a variety of predesigned items to include in the composition, ranging from alms bowls and animals, to the shape, size, and angle of a figure’s eyes, nose, and lips. The process seems very scientific, but often requires a deep understanding of the symbolism involved to capture the spirit of it. Because the art is explicitly religious, all symbols and allusions must be in accordance with strict guidelines laid out in the Buddhist scriptures. The artist must be properly trained and have sufficient religious understanding, knowledge, and background to create an accurate and appropriate thangka.

It is indeed a privilege and blessing that Kechara Saraswati Arts has its very own thangka studio within its premises. From time to time, we will hold classes and workshops on this profound art form, conducted by highly qualified thangka artists and masters. It is something not to be missed.

3 Responses to Thangka Painting

  1. Hi, I’m keen to join the thangka painting classes. When is the next one available? Thanks!

  2. Hi, i would like to know more about learning of Thangka paintings. Is there any classes conduct in the year of 2011? as i couldn’t find any schedule in the website. Please guide me through. Thanks.