佛菩萨协助我们逃过意外

2010年6月8日 星期二 下午12:26 评论关闭

从这张照片可清楚看见浓雾的情况,还有我们的巴士司机企图及成功躲避的意外


4月20日,我到澳大利亚肯布兰的卧龙岗进行一次实地考察。这里是来自马来西亚、中国及日本的运输船停留的地方,这里有澳洲最大的钢铁制造厂……。

清晨6时左右,我乘坐的巴士开始从坎贝拉往卧龙岗出发。我在巴士上半梦半醒中边持诵宗喀巴大师赞.
。

当天的气候很糟糕,外面的雾气很浓、可见度低,即使要看清楚路前方都不容易。一个小时后,我们看见前方发生交通意外,我们的巴士差一点也撞向另一辆汽车及草丛旁的大树。当时我在半梦半醒,突然间我感觉到司机很大力地踩刹车器,还听见轮胎跟地面摩擦的刺耳声。

巴士上的所有乘客都承受激烈的摇晃。我很用力把双手按在前面的座位,企图避免自己的头部受伤。我的脑海在空转,心里拼命喊到:“不是现在!不是现在!不是现在!”我有一种自己即将死去的恐怖感觉。

我甚至可以听见巴士里其他人的叫喊声,但是我整个人僵住了,无法言语。可幸的是,司机很机灵地把巴士转向草丛,避开了前面的车辆。司机成功在大树前两公尺的距离把巴士停止下来—两公尺!当时的感觉就像在电影里的画面,一点也不真实。

司机在座位上无法动弹,交通警察不敢随便移动他,必须等待医药人员前来救援

我的课程召集人大卫立即检查,看看团员是否都无恙。我有点受惊,当我站起来望向车窗外时,发现另一辆车撞向了前面的车,看起来还挺严重的样子。乘客平躺在路面,另一辆车还释放了有毒气体(我们在巴士内都闻得到)。

救火员赶到现场并跑向我们这里。不幸的是,基于浓雾当局无法中断继续向前驶进的车辆。

神奇的是,我发现几分钟前越过我们巴士的一辆白色车子,毁不成形地瘫痪在路面。

路的另一边还有另一位躺在路面的伤者。幸好我们的司机成功把巴士转向别处

我们继续留在那儿长达20分钟,等待救火员帮助我们从浓雾中离开。我们同时也见到另外三四辆跑在我们前面的车子严重撞毁,其中一两辆几乎翻覆过来。

一个小时后,我从收音机听到那条发生车祸的道路终于关闭了……。我们侥幸脱险,多亏司机的机灵及宗喀巴的加持!

另一位等待救援的受伤司机

橙色的车子撞向大树,另一个浓雾受害者

已停止接受评论

Avoiding Accidents Through Buddha’s Blessing

8 June 2010 - 12:26pm Comments Off

The accident our coach driver tried (and managed!) to avoid. From this photo, you can see how bad the fog was


I was in a field trip on 20th April to Wollongong, Port Kembla; a place where transport ships from Malaysia, China and Japan drop by the biggest steel manufacturing company in Australia.

At around 6am, my coach started to move out from Canberra to Wollongong. I was half-asleep in the coach, waiting to fall into a deep sleep, and reciting a Tibetan Buddhist prayer mantra called Migtsema.

The weather conditions were extremely poor as there was a massive, thick fog: it was a struggle to even see what was right in front of us on the road. About an hour later, we ran into an accident scene that nearly caused our coach to ram into another car and a tree beside the bushes. I was still half-asleep when suddenly I could feel the driver hitting very hard on the brakes, and hear the sharp screeching of the tyres fighting very hard against the road.

Everyone on the coach was badly shaking. I pressed my hand really hard against the seat in front of me, in order to try to protect my head. My mind was racing, screaming: “Not right now!! Not right now!! Not right now!!” I had the terrifying feeling that this was going to be my time to die.

I could hear the screaming from the rest of my team, but I felt so paralysed in the moment, I couldn’t even speak. Fortunately for us, the driver made a brilliant turn into the bushes and managed to avoid the accident scene ahead of us. He managed to stop the coach just two metres before the tree – two metres! It felt more like we were in a movie scene rather than real life.

The driver in the car could not get out, and traffic police waited for the paramedics, not daring to move him themselves

Mr David, my course convener, immediately stood up to check that we were all OK. I was a bit stunned and a little shaken, but once I stood up from my seat to look out through the window, I couldn’t believe what I saw around me: another accident had occurred and it looked to be pretty serious. People were lying on the road side, and a car started to release poisonous gas (we could smell it from inside the coach).

The firefighters were already at the scene and quickly ran in our direction; unfortunately it seemed that there was a failure to block the road off due to the thickness of the fog.

Amazingly, I noticed that the white car damaged on the scene was the exact same car that took over our coach just a few minutes earlier and now lay ahead of us in pretty bad shape.

Another casualty lay by the side of the road. Luckily, our driver was able to avoid driving in to him when our coach swerved

We remained at the accident scene for about twenty minutes, waiting for the fire fighters to allow us to move on in the fog, and in that time, we saw yet another three or four cars ahead of us, all severely damaged, with one or two of them being completely flipped over.

An hour later, I heard on the radio that the road had finally been closed…not a moment too soon, it was a very close call for us, thanks to the clever manoeuvering of our driver and the blessings of Tsongkhapa!

Another injured driver waiting for assistance

The orange car drove into a tree, another casualty of the heavy fog

Comments are closed.