黄明贵

4 条评论

詹拉章协调助理,私人助理和e部门主管

明贵是一名工程师,毕业于伦敦帝国理工学院电子工程专业学士学位。2007年明贵在克切拉佛教中心的读书俱乐部,结识了尊贵的仁波切。这一段启蒙经历对其未来,起了根本性的变化。该变化激励了他放手英国的工作,与尊贵的詹杜固仁波切一起服务于佛法工作。

作为e部门的主管,明贵监督仁波切和克切拉的多媒体和网络项目。此外,明贵也是掌管仁波切来往信函和占卜的秘书。

手提电话: +6012 313 0489
电子邮件: bengkooi@tsemladrang.com

黄明贵

评论关闭

詹拉章董事

在未遇见仁波切之前,我的生活过得很舒适。我拥有一份优渥的工作及一群死党,生活并没有太大的问题。我是一个居住在英国却热爱周游欧洲的大马青年……未来是一目了然的。

我向来对灵修深感兴趣,但一直没有充分的理由去探索它。直到2007年,我的一位朋友邀请我参与克切拉佛教中心的读书会,当时仁波切也在现场。读书会里谈到了一位非传统的上师是如何的与一般的和尚有所不同。仁波切推翻了我对宗教哲学、佛法和灵修的旧有概念,他非传统的活泼教法揭开了我心中的许多疑惑。

遇见仁波切不久后,我来到了人生的三叉口,面临着两项选择。其一是继续追求一个圆满的事业,其二是加入佛法事业,追随仁波切。在未保证会被录取,而前方又缺乏指引和掌握的情况下,我带着好奇的心踏上这条未知路。

身为协调助理和詹拉章的一份子,我必须密切地与仁波切共事。这和其他“工作“不一样。仁波切善用巧妙的方式挑战我对事物的固有看法和偏见,这便是精神修行的一部分,而我每天除了学习让自己的思维变得更加灵活外,也努力将之转化。

自从加入佛法事业后,我在仁波切身上学习并体会到许多。我将永远感恩自己曾经服侍过上师的这段日子。我不会感到后悔,因为这些经验丰富了我的生命,并使我成为更能福利大众的人,而这一切是外在的环境所无法提供的。

 

职务

  • 詹拉章属下之E-小组和作者小组主管
  • 尊贵的詹杜固仁波切的私人助理
  • 克切拉团体董事

 

背景介绍

自伦敦帝国学院电器与电子工程学系毕业之后,我于2001年回到马来西亚发展,随后加入普腾汽车引擎研发部门服务。2004年,我再次回到英国并成为莲花汽车引擎工程师,为混合动力汽车研发的创新技术寻求解决方案。

2007年3月份的时候,我很认真地考虑着要搬到奥地利去,就在那时候,我与詹仁波切第一次见了面。那是我人生中的一个转捩点。于是我回到马来西亚来,近距离接触仁波切和克切拉佛教中心。此时,我接受了另一份工作,成为汽车动力系统引擎顾问。

我在2007年5月成为克切拉团体的志愿工作者,不久后即决定全力投入,成为全职佛法工作者。开始时,我夜晚在拉章服务,白天则继续回到对我来说已日益无趣的工作岗位。2007年尾,在仁波切的加持之下,我很荣幸的被邀请加入协调助理理事会。于是,在我把工作上的合约问题解决了之后,便放下了世俗间的工作,并于2008年1月正式全职加入詹拉章。

 

联络

电邮: bengkooi@tsemladrang.com

已停止接受评论

黄明贵

2009年6月6日 星期六 下午10:05 评论关闭

我之所以会选择投入佛法工作,是因为成功的“正常生活”并不能为我带来真正的满足感,我的内心常会感觉到莫名的空虚。尽管我曾经试着让朋友或活动来填补这份空虚,却每每都会在最初的高潮之后,很快的又打回原形。

Ooi Beng Kooi, 32
尊贵的詹杜固仁波切协调助理 /
詹拉章私人助理 & e-部门

明贵的专业背景是电子工程师。毕业之后,她在汽车工业担任了7年的研究员兼顾问。在道教、佛教家庭长大的明贵,自小就与各种宗教有所接触。由于父母对宗教有着浓厚的兴趣,她家里的佛坛上,不只供养着一般的佛教及道教本尊像,甚至也有基督教及兴都教神祗的肖像。其实并不难想象,对成长在这样一个背景的名贵来说,企图透过信仰及灵修来找寻生命中的答案,只不过是迟早的问题。作为詹拉章协调助理,黄明贵目前除了是仁波切的信函与占卜秘书,也是他的私人助理。她也同时兼任詹拉章e-部门组长。


明贵,你通常会如何形容自己呢?加入克切拉之前,你都在做些什么?

我是一个容易相处,也相当悠闲的一个人,平时也不太多话。在加入克切拉之 前,生活就是按照一般的规律进行,在英国工作;到欧洲背包旅行;有一个成功的事业,一个快乐的家庭生活,一群很好的朋友就世俗的目标而言,我从来都不曾担心过什么。


为什么一个既已达致世俗目标,又拥有成功事业的人会选择投入佛法工作呢?为什么你会参与佛法工作?

我之所以会选择投入佛法工作,是因为成功的“正常生活”并不能为我带来真正的满足感,我的内心常会感觉到莫名的空虚。尽管我曾经试着让朋友或活动来填补这份空虚,却每每都会在最初的高潮之后,很快的又打回原形。我认为生命不该只是如此而已。参与佛法工作让我有机会活出不一样的人生,同时也能协助他人。我觉得,与其抱着迟些再做也无妨的心态,不如现在能做多少就去做,谁知道,万一我明天就死了呢?我已经不想再浪费自己的生命了。


吸引你到克切拉的原因是什么?你为什么会选择留在克切拉,并投入这儿的佛法工作呢?

我向来对佛法感兴趣,还曾经为了学习佛法,到吉隆坡的一间寺院当志工。然而,那儿却没有人能够为我的种种疑问提供合乎逻辑的答案。我是在2007年第一次参加克切拉读书会时,认识了尊贵的詹杜固仁波切。仁波切所说的一切,不但非常逻辑,也十分实用,其态度也很诚恳。此外,他所提出的论据,即使在严格的审查下,也无可辩驳所以,我留下了!


加入克切拉之前,你对生命存有什么样的疑问?你通常会到哪儿寻找答案呢?

我时常都会问自己“为什么我们会在这里?”。我想知道,当我们死亡的时候,究竟会发生些什么事?我不明白为什么世界上存在着这么多的不公平,也很好奇,为什么有些人总是会比另一些人幸运?我一直都企图从灵修中寻找答案。我从来都不认为修行是个“一站式”或“全包式”的商店,却将之视为一个能让自己变得更好,继而能为世界及他人的生活带来改变的过程。


你喜欢仁波切的哪一方面?他给了你什么样的启发?

深深触动我的,是仁波切对众生一视同仁的关爱。他的关爱是毫无条件、没有止境且十分坚定的。就对他人的关怀而言,仁波切总是有办法在任何情况下,找出任何可能的欠缺。他总是不断的想方法,以确保每一个人都过得更好……而且一有想法,他总会立刻着手去进行。仁波切在协助人们转化自己的无限创意,给我带来了很大的启发。

已停止接受评论

Ooi Beng Kooi

9 Comments

Board of Directors
Personal Assistant and Director of e-Division

An engineer with a Bachelors Degree in Electronic Engineering from Imperial College, London, Beng Kooi first heard H.E. speak at a book club at Kechara House in 2007. It was an illuminating experience and a radical change of perspective, inspiring her to leave her job in the UK to join H.E. and serve the Dharma.

As the Director of e-Division, Beng Kooi oversees all multimedia and Internet projects for H.E. and Kechara. Beng Kooi also serves as H.E.’s Correspondence and Divination Secretary.

[M]     +6012 313 0489
[E]      beng.ooi@kechara.com

9 Responses to Ooi Beng Kooi

  1. [...] week, Ooi Beng Kooi‘s aunt unfortunately passed away. Being a family-orientated person, she was very close to her [...]

  2. [...] President, Datuk May Phng and a deeply devoted group of Ladrang Liaisons, JP Thong, Chuah Su Ming, Ooi Beng Kooi and Loh Seng Piow. Together with a large team of staff and committed volunteers, they take care of [...]

  3. [...] Ai joined the Ladrang’s E-Division full-time in 2009 under the wing of Liaison Ooi Beng Kooi , following the footsteps of her mother, Dato’ Ruby Khong, President of Kechara Soup Kitchen, [...]

  4. [...] Mei, Seng Piow, Beng Kooi, Lew Kwan Leng, Joy, Justin Ripley, Sara Yap, Jean Ai (sometimes)….and we have people who [...]

  5. [...] likely not be adopted. I had to take them and I did… I had Susan, Li Kim, Seng Piow, KB and Beng Kooi today to help me. It was a a spur of the moment thing. I do my best to always avoid pet shops [...]

  6. [...] nice letter along with a beautiful card and unique gifts from Ms Veronika Tupayachi, via my liaison Beng Kooi. I am very happy to receive Veronika’s sincere letter. I had previously given her a gift [...]

  7. [...] have just received an mms update from Beng Kooi regarding Kechara’s Sunway Pyramid Wesak Fair… and I thought it would be great to share [...]

  8. [...] Beng Kooi or BK is in charge of this division. The new signboard has just gone up yesterday and it looks [...]

  9. [...] I will have Beng Kooi of E-division to attach the talk here with a link. You can write to Beng Kooi about in case it doesn’t come or at least a snippet of it within a week. Hehehe… a [...]

Ooi Beng Kooi

3 Comments

Director of Tsem Ladrang

Before meeting Rinpoche, life was good. I had a good job, great friends and no problems. I was a young Malaysian living it up in UK and travelling around Europe… the future was an open book.

I had always been interested in spirituality but never really had a reason to explore deeper until a friend invited me one day to a book club at Kechara House in 2007. Rinpoche was in attendance. The book club discussion was about an unconventional Guru who was nothing like a normal “monk” and the “monk” sitting on the throne was definitely not conventional. He blew away my ideas of religious philosophy, Buddhism and spirituality. His words cut through the traditional presentation of ancient wisdom and cleared up many unanswered questions in my life.

Meeting Rinpoche then, at a crossroads in my life, left me with a choice between pursuing a lucrative career progression and seeking a spiritual career close to Rinpoche. With no guarantees of being accepted, no roadmap ahead and nothing to grasp onto, I gave in to my curiosity and took a step towards the unknown.

Working so closely with Rinpoche, both as a Director and as part of Tsem Ladrang is unlike any other “job”. Rinpoche uses skilful methods to challenge my projections and preconceptions of how things should be. It is all part of spiritual training, of course, and every day I am learning to be more flexible, resourceful and to transform my mind.

I have experienced, and learned so much from Rinpoche since I committed to Dharma that I will be forever grateful for the time I have spent serving my Lama. I have absolutely no regrets. This experience has enriched my life and has given me the opportunity to be of more benefit to others than any other environment ever could.


Portfolio

  • Director of e-Division and Writers, Tsem Ladrang
  • Personal Assistant to H.E. Tsem Rinpoche
  • Correspondence and Divination Secretary


Background

Having graduated with a Bachelors Degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from Imperial College in London, I returned to Malaysia in 2001 where I worked in the Research Division of Proton Cars developing new engines for mass production. In 2004, I returned to England to join a specialist team in Lotus Engineering, researching cutting-edge solutions for hybrid vehicles.

I was seriously contemplating moving to Austria when I met Rinpoche for the first time in March 2007. This was the turning point in my life and I returned to Malaysia to be closer to Rinpoche and Kechara, accepting another job offer as a consultant for alternative powertrains in Malaysia.

I started volunteering in Kechara in May 2007 and decided to commit to full-time Dharma work shortly after. I started working nights in the Ladrang while continuing my day job, whose appeal was wearing thin. In late 2007, with Rinpoche’s blessings, I had the great honour to be invited to join the Board of Directors. Having successfully resolved some contractual issues at work, I left my samsaric job behind and joined the Ladrang full-time in January 2008.


Contact

Email: beng.ooi@kechara.com

3 Responses to Ooi Beng Kooi

  1. Can you tell me the Name of the unconventional monk that really changed the direction in your life. Sounds interesting and the name of the book or monk that you are referring to.

  2. That’s amazing. Congratulations, Beng! I can’t tell you enough how amazing you all are at Kechara, spreading the Dharma and reaching all corners of the globe. I am so grateful to be connected to you and through you, H.E. Tsem Tulku Rinpoche. You are ALL and inspiration.

Ooi Beng Kooi

6 June 2009 - 10:05pm Comments Off

I joined Dharma work because I wasn’t finding real satisfaction in leading a successful ‘normal life’. There was a sense of emptiness in me that I tried to fill with friends, activities and experiences but after the initial high, I was back to square one.

Ooi Beng Kooi, 32
Liaison to H.E. Tsem Rinpoche
Personal Assistant & e-Division Tsem Ladrang

Trained as an electronic engineer, Ooi Beng Kooi was a researcher and consultant in the automotive industry for seven years. Beng Kooi was raised in a Taoist-Buddhist environment and her parents were interested in religion; her family altar featured both Christian and Hindu deities alongside the usual Taoist and Buddhist ones. Given her upbringing, it was only a matter of time before Beng Kooi began to look into spirituality to answer the questions she had about life. As a Liaison of Tsem Ladrang, Beng Kooi is H.E. Tsem Rinpoche’s correspondence and divination secretary, as well as his personal assistant. She is also the Head of Tsem Ladrang’s e-Division.


How would you describe yourself, Beng Kooi? What were you doing before you came to Kechara?

I’m a very easy-going, laidback kind of person, someone who doesn’t talk very much. Life before Kechara was routine – I worked in the UK, backpacked all over Europe, had a successful career, a happy family life, great friends… in terms of achieving worldly life goals, I never had anything to worry about.


So having achieved normal worldly goals, why would someone with a successful career join Dharma work? Why did you join Dharma work?

I joined Dharma work because I wasn’t finding real satisfaction in leading a successful ‘normal life’. There was a sense of emptiness in me that I tried to fill with friends, activities and experiences but after the initial high, I was back to square one. I felt life had more meaning than that, and Dharma work offered me an opportunity to really make a difference and help others. I want to do as much as I can now, instead of thinking that I can do it later… after all, what if I die tomorrow? I want to stop wasting my life away.


What attracted you to Kechara? Why did you choose to stay and do Dharma work with Kechara?

I had previously been interested in Buddhism and had volunteered at a temple in Kuala Lumpur, intending to learn Dharma while volunteering. However, no one there could give me logical answers to my questions. Then I met H.E. Tsem Rinpoche at my first Kechara book club in 2007. What Rinpoche said was logical, extremely applicable and sincere, backed up with examples and proof that was irrefutable despite intense scrutiny from many angles… so I stayed!


Before coming to Kechara, what questions were you asking about life? Where were you looking for your answers?

I asked myself, “Why are we here?” I wanted to know what happens to us when we die; I wondered why there is so much inequality, why some people are ‘luckier’ than others. I was searching for the answers in spirituality, which I’ve never viewed as a one-stop, fix-it-all shop. I see spirituality as the process of developing ourselves to be better people, and to make a difference in the world and to other people’s lives.


What do you like about Rinpoche? What about him inspires you?

I admire and am inspired by Rinpoche’s care for others, regardless of who or what they are. His care is unconditional, unlimited, uncompromising. Rinpoche has the ability to be in any situation and look at what’s missing in terms of care; he thinks constantly about what can be done to ensure someone is better off… and he immediately does something about it. Rinpoche’s boundless creativity in finding new ways to help people transform really inspires me.

Comments are closed.