Lamrim and Life

#23: The power of familiarity

Thursday, 17/6/2010 - 12:12pm

How is it possible to exchange self with others? First, we must acknowledge and understand that the object we cherish [...]

Comments Off

#22: The art of switcheroo

Wednesday, 9/6/2010 - 5:39pm

If we are determined to turn over a new leaf and become the truly beautiful person we really are, a [...]

Comments Off

#21: Cherishing ourselves and others equally

Wednesday, 2/6/2010 - 10:18am

Since the moment we were born we have been cherishing ourselves. Just look at babies – don’t they get whatever [...]

Comments Off

#20: How to be the greatest lover of all: Be an equaliser

Wednesday, 26/5/2010 - 10:07am

We still need to remove some doubts before we can move on to be a lover of all…

Comments Off

#19: Remembering and repaying the kindness of our mothers

Thursday, 20/5/2010 - 12:14pm

Recognising that all living beings – humans, animals, insects, anything – in the universe seen and unseen, known and unknown [...]

Comments Off

#18: Believe it or not, all living beings are our mothers

Thursday, 13/5/2010 - 3:04pm

Many will find the above assertion a tough nut to swallow. Before we reject it, please consider what the Enlightened [...]

Comments Off

#17: Equanimity: The key to a cool mind

Wednesday, 5/5/2010 - 11:42am

A Buddha is cool because he has stilled his passions and is therefore free from excitement and depression. He does [...]

Comments Off

#16: How to be really cool: Developing equanimity

Thursday, 29/4/2010 - 12:35pm

In Buddhism, being cool is not about ignoring everything or accepting everything. To be cool means we can deal with [...]

Comments Off

#15: On the way: The seven-fold cause and effect method

Wednesday, 21/4/2010 - 10:13pm

Each step is a cause for the succeeding effect, which in turn becomes the cause.

Comments Off

#14: The way of the bodhisattva

Wednesday, 14/4/2010 - 1:27am

The suffering I witness will be what all living beings, without exception, will have to go through…

Comments Off

#13: The road to perfection

Tuesday, 6/4/2010 - 11:31pm

What is so imperfect or unsatisfactory about our life, and daily challenges and encounters? We have to recognise this first [...]

Comments Off

#12: Hallebuddhaya: The cure and the medicine

Thursday, 1/4/2010 - 4:34am

For those who have been following this series so far, we have reached a milestone here which can be considered [...]

Comments Off

#11: Nipping the bud: The true origin of suffering

Wednesday, 24/3/2010 - 1:42pm

According to Buddhism, our main mental problems or delusions are: ignorance, attachment and anger. Because of these delusions, we engage [...]

Comments Off

#10: Closing in on the truth of suffering

Wednesday, 17/3/2010 - 2:38pm

What is it we have in common with Queen Elizabeth or the homeless Ah Kow on Sultan Street? Suffering! It [...]

Comments Off

#9: Suffering of change

Wednesday, 10/3/2010 - 5:56pm

When we encounter obvious pain or suffering, there is no issue about us seeking treatment, whether for ourselves or for [...]

Comments Off

#8: The path to freedom

Wednesday, 3/3/2010 - 4:11am

The path to freedom… Well, not quite yet. We’ve got to get real first.

Comments Off

#7: To be or not to be FREE

Wednesday, 24/2/2010 - 5:57pm

What do we want to be free from? All kinds of suffering. Not only freedom from suffering from physical ailments, [...]

Comments Off

#6: Karma, part 2 (Be a karmic doctor, not a karmic slave)

Thursday, 11/2/2010 - 4:34am

Karmic cause and effect is the fairest operation of a natural law one can find in our world system. It [...]

Comments Off

#5: Karma, part 1 (Karma and chameleon)

Thursday, 4/2/2010 - 2:28am

A chameleon protects itself by changing its body’s colours through a bio-chemical process to ‘hide’ itself in different environments…

Comments Off

#4: The dharma & sangha jewels

Tuesday, 26/1/2010 - 8:01pm

The Buddha gave 84,000 teachings during his lifetime , each of which are specific antidotes to the 84,000 afflictions of [...]

Comments Off

#3: Refuge

Tuesday, 19/1/2010 - 8:43pm

When you are in deep trouble, who do you call? Buddhists know where to seek relief – they go for [...]

Comments Off

#2: Life after death

Tuesday, 12/1/2010 - 5:46pm

Since the dawn of civilisation, mankind has been fascinated by death and life thereafter

Comments Off

#1: Death and impermanence

Wednesday, 6/1/2010 - 4:10pm

While there can be arguments or debates with regards to the impermanent nature of many objects in this universe, known [...]

Comments Off