释迦牟尼佛

评论关闭

佛是能够发展所有积极正面品质,摒除一切负面特征的人。其实佛在证悟之前是像你和我一样的“普通人”。证悟就像一觉醒来一样,就像一个人正在睡觉,然后忽然醒来,经历了一次从身体到心灵的完全转化。

你可能说佛代表着进化的顶点,因为他或她无所不知无所不晓,因为他或她具有极度澄净的心灵。所有当一个人的心灵彻底纯净了,他也就可以成佛了。


释迦牟尼佛

释迦牟尼佛是这一轮回中数以千计的佛之一。他们最初的时候都不是佛,也是和我们一样的芸芸众生。历史上的释迦牟尼佛或者乔达摩佛,生活在2500年前的印度,但他并不是第一位成佛之人,更不是最后一位。

他传授的法教说这一轮回(非常长的时间,可能相当于我们所知道的宇宙的时间) ,1000年就有位证悟佛陀传播佛教(后来的就被完全忘记了)。这个轮回的前三名是拘留孙佛或惧留孙佛、拘那含牟尼佛、大迦叶,然后是释迦牟尼佛,再接着就是弥勒佛。


出世,童年和成长

乔达摩悉达多王子出生于2500年前,是现在尼泊尔蓝毗尼的王子。他出生时,有很多特殊的现象。他的父亲,也就是国王,让国家中的一位智者给他儿子忠告。智者预言,乔达摩要么成为一个伟大的国王,要么成为一位伟大的精神导师。

国王想让儿子继承王位,想尽一切办法让他远离精神生活。乔达摩平日生活在父王的宫殿里,周围都是那个时代最奢华的东西。他的确是个与众不同的孩子,非常安静、聪明,是个优秀的体育人才。他娶了自己深爱的女人为妻,然后他们有了个儿子。


发现痛苦

乔达摩29岁的时候,他发现皇宫之外有很多灾难。在城市里走访的时候,他开始观察病人、老人和死亡。

这深深触动了他,也为众生所遭遇的苦难大吃一惊。他下决心要找到结束苦难的办法。他离开了妻儿,放弃了荣华富贵,皇宫以及他的皇袍和仆人,踏上了精神寻觅之路。


追求真理

乔达摩四处拜师学艺,直到他全部掌握了那些本领。他的第一位老师是阿罗逻,教他以冥想的形式达到专注的喜悦, 达到一种“虚无”境界,跨越道德和认知的界限。乔达摩发现这种方法也无法解决所有苦难,于是他继续修行。

他的下一位老师是优陀迦,教他以冥想的方式达到“既非感知,而非感知”的境界。乔达摩又一次意识到那不是他要寻找的境界。之后他开始在南印度的优娄频罗村的苦行林进行极度苦行修习,还有追随他的另外五位苦行者。经过6年修行,他意识到,只是让身体筋疲力尽并不能产生新的领悟,只会带来虚弱和自我耗损。


证悟

然后他坐在了现在叫做菩提迦耶(北印度)的一棵菩提树下,决定不找到真理绝不起来。通过冥想,他证悟成佛。这意味着他开掘了普通人潜在的正面能量,摒弃了自己的负面特质。就这样,他意识到存在和苦难(空)的本质,找到了结束苦难的方法。

觉悟后的第7周,佛在瓦拉纳西附近的鹿野苑第一次弘法。在这里他传授了四圣谛予众生。佛在一生中继续弘法,直到81岁那年圆寂。

这就是释迦牟尼的故事。

已停止接受评论

Shakyamuni Buddha

Comments Off

A Buddha is a person who has developed all positive qualities and got rid of all negative qualities. The Buddha was an “ordinary” human like you and me before he became enlightened. Enlightenment is quite like awakening, just as a person who is sleeping suddenly waking up and experiencing a complete transformation of body and mind.

You could say that a Buddha represents the very peak of evolution, as he/she is omniscient or all-knowing because he/she has achieved a very clear mind.  So when one’s mind is completely purified, one becomes a Buddha.


Shakyamuni Buddha

Shakyamuni Buddha is one among the thousand Buddhas of this eon. These Buddhas were not Buddhas from the beginning, but were once sentient beings like ourselves.  The historical Buddha, Shakyamuni or Gautama Buddha, lived about 2,500 years ago in India.  However, he was not the first Buddha, and will not be the last either.

He taught that during this eon (a very long time, maybe comparable to the life-time of the universe as we know it), there would be 1,000 fully enlightened Buddhas who would introduce Buddhism (after it has been totally forgotten).  The numbers one to three in this eon were Krakucchanda, Kanakamuni, Kashyapa, then came Shakyamuni, and the next Buddha who will come is called Maitreya.


Birth, Childhood and Growing Up

Prince Siddharta Gautama was born some 2,500 years ago as a prince in what is now called Lumbini in Nepal.  At his birth, many special signs appeared.  His father, the King asked a sage living in his kingdom for advice on his son.  The sage predicted that Gautama would become either a great King or a great spiritual teacher.

The King wanted his son to be his successor and tried to keep him far away from all matters of life that could incline him to a spiritual life.  Gautama usually spent his life in his father’s palace, surrounded by all the possible luxuries of the time.  He proved to be a special child, being quite intelligent as well as an excellent sportsman.  He married a beautiful woman he loved, and they had a son.


Discovering Suffering

When Gautama was 29 years old, he discovered that outside of the palace, there seemed to be much suffering in the world around him.  While visiting the city, he began to observe the problems of sickness, old age and death.

This affected him very deeply and having been shocked by the suffering of all living beings, he decided to search for a way to end it.  He left his wife and child, his riches, the palace and even his royal clothes and servants, and started out on a spiritual quest.


Searching For The Truth

Gautama studied under various teachers and followed their practices until he mastered them all.  His first teacher was Alara Kalama who taught a form of meditation leading to an exalted form of absorption called “the state of nothingness”, a state without moral or cognitive dimension.  Gautama saw this was not going to solve all the suffering so he continued his search.

His next teacher was Udraka Ramaputra who taught him meditative absorption leading to “the state of neither perception nor non-perception”.  Again, Gautama realised that it was not the state he was looking for.  Next, he tried extreme ascetic practices at Uruvilva in North India, with five other ascetics who turned into his followers.  In the end, Gautama nearly died of starvation.  After about six years of searching, he realised that just wearing down his body did not generate new insights, but rather led to weakness and self-destruction.


Enlightenment

He then sat down in a place now called Bodhgaya (North India) under a Bodhi-tree and decided not to get up anymore until he discovered the truth.  After meditating for awhile, he became a fully enlightened Buddha.  This means that he actualised all positive potentials of a sentient being and rid himself of all negative qualities.  With this, he realised the true nature of existence and suffering (emptiness), and how suffering can be ended.

Seven weeks after enlightenment, the Buddha gave his first teaching in a place called Sarnath, near Varanasi.  Here he taught the Four Noble Truths.  The Buddha continued to teach during his life, until he passed away at the age of 81.

This is the story of Buddha Shakyamuni.

Comments are closed.