爱的苦恼与销魂

2010年11月9日 星期二 下午1:54 评论关闭

爱是祈愿你爱的人永远快乐平安。爱是宁愿为他们受苦受伤。

尊贵的詹杜固仁波切

爱的定义很多。最常用的是情绪受到激发的感情。这种爱通常伴随着欲望的执着。执着是一种妄想、令人痛苦的情绪,这种爱是迷惑人心及靠不住的。它或能带来短暂的快乐,长期下来我们只会承受痛苦和失望。

人类最大的幸福是得到爱、付出爱。动物及其他众生或没有这种能力。

无论如何,在寻找爱的喜悦的当儿,我们经常感受了苦恼。爱停止之际,也是我们痛苦的开始。痛苦源自于失望、误解、期望要求落空等。我们也会因为害怕受伤而不敢爱、不敢放手去爱。我们因而感受沮丧。我们该如何消除这样的负面情绪呢?唯有在我们停止自我为中心的爱,让亲密感来自内心,而非身体上的亲密感之时。

当爱不是自私的,没有自利的无知时,这样的爱就不会带来痛苦。纯真的爱是时时为他人着想的爱,一种为他人付出、处处为他人着想而不言倦的爱。

只要开始学习不对他人产生强烈的期望和得到利益,我们就能慢慢改进我们爱的品质。

世间大概有两种爱:

第一类:强烈而短暂。强烈的欲望和执着,并掩盖了爱本身。我们感受内在的宁静受到强烈干扰,情绪波动激烈,心无法放开来爱。两人之间一旦出现问题,爱就此消失无踪。

第二类:强烈而深沉。彼此有成长的空间,体验不同的经历。爱的能量随着时间慢慢增长。

我们该把第一类的爱转化成第二类。不论对方满意不满意我们,我们都天长地久地爱下去。最终,我们还能生起爱护对方、保护对方的爱。就像佛菩萨对我们的爱。

就像上师对我们的爱。

已停止接受评论

The agony + ecstasy of love

9 November 2010 - 11:32pm Comments Off

Love is wishing for the people that love you never to be harmed. And you would take the harm for them.

H.E. Tsem Rinpoche

There are countless definitions of love. The most common are those that are emotionally motivated. This kind of love is usually accompanied by desirous attachment. Since attachment is a delusion, an afflictive emotion, this kind of love is deceptive. It may bring short-term happiness but in the long term, we will experience suffering and disappointment.

To give and receive love is one of the greatest joys of being human. Animals and other beings do not have such a capacity to enjoy such happiness.

However, in seeking this ecstasy we often experience agony. The pain comes when the love stops. The pain is often the feeling of disappointment which arises from demand, expectation or misunderstanding. We reflexively withhold or limit our love for fear of pain. This is the mind of frustration we are carrying. How do we get rid of such misery? When self-loving stops, when the intimacy is coming from our heart and mind, and not from a physical basis.

When love is not selfish, when it is free from self-grasping ignorance, there will be no pain. Pure love is always thinking of others to such an extent that we will do things for the benefit of others.

We can improve the quality of our love by freeing ourselves from strong expectations and developing interest in others.

There are two types of love:

(Type A) Strong and short lived – mixed with strong desire and attachment energy, which undermines love. In this type of love, we experience push-and-pull which disturbs our inner peace and limits what our heart can give. When problems arise, this kind of love degenerates quickly.

(Type B) Strong and deep – love with space to grow, that is able to accommodate all kinds of experience. Adversities help this beautiful loving energy to grow.

We should transform love from Type A to Type B. We can do this by continuously loving whether others are happy with us or not. Eventually we will be able to love to protect and to benefit others – just like a Buddha’s love for us.

Just like our Guru’s love for us.

Comments are closed.