#5:业力,第一部分(业力与变色龙)

2010年2月4日 星期四 上午2:28 评论关闭

变色龙自我保护的方法,就是透过生物化学过程随着环境变换身体的颜色,把自己“隐藏”起来。不过,变色龙不是每次都能成功隐身,它们也有落入捕食者手中的一天。人世间并没有所谓的绝对可靠的原理。即使是地心引力也有所波动,所有的科学原理也只在特定变数之内运作。

佛陀说,要获得全面的保护就必须依靠业力。是的,业力并无法给你直接的保护;不过,只要了解业力的运作原则,你就可以远离痛苦,获得永恒的快乐与自由。

对某些人而言,变色龙的自我保护方法或许很吸引人;不过如果你不希望成为变色龙的话,就必须了解何谓业力,以确保我们来世不会投生成为爬虫类。我们永远无法确定我们前世到底曾经做过什么愚蠢的事。

“业”普遍被当成名词来使用,比如“善业”或“恶业”。你不小心踩到香蕉皮,就是恶业。有人把失物交还给你就是善业。听起来很酷,不过呢,业的意义远比这个来的深奥。

业的定律是宇宙自然因果律的特别例子,而我们的身、口、意都是因,经历则是果。

一般而言,我们都了解何谓因果。譬如说,当天空出现闪电打雷,就表示会下雨;当水和洋灰混合,就会产生混凝土。当某些特定因素和条件结合在一起时,就会产生某些结果。

本文讨论的业的因果律只适用于生物与有生命的物体。一张桌子或一艘船并没有所谓的善业或恶业。

更确切地说,业力代表了行动。业力透过意志活动来运作。要深入了解业力,就必须先了解三项主要组成部分——行动、其效果和行动的印记。

当一个人展开某些行动时,行动完成后就会在他的心识里留下印记或潜伏力。当适合的条件碰在一时,业力就会成熟,果就会开出来。这个印记可以在行动发生后潜伏很长的一段时间。

任何一个行动过后,都会产生立即与后续的效果。譬如说,当我们发怒并大吼时,整张脸会涨红,并立即感受到愤怒的不适感或痛苦。愤怒过后,我们的心识就烙下一个印记,它可以在未来任何条件成熟时产生负面的影响。

身为佛教徒,这是我们应当了解的一个重点。当一项行动的业力成熟时,我们几乎无计可施。即使是佛菩萨也无能为力。譬如说,我们投生成为人,我们就必须如此这般地生活。我们祈求明天醒来或20年后变成天使的心愿,在今生来说都将是徒劳无功的。

无论如何,只要印记继续处于静止状态,我们就有机会净化它或把它清除,从而不会在将来给我们制造困扰。我们的来世肯定比今生拥有更美好的未来。

 

下周: 业力,第二部分(成为业之医师,非业之奴隶)

已停止接受评论

#5: Karma, part 1 (Karma and chameleon)

4 February 2010 - 2:28am Comments Off

A chameleon protects itself by changing its body’s colours through a bio-chemical process to ‘hide’ itself in different environments. However it does not work all the time and they do fall prey to predators. There are no principles in this world which are absolutely dependable. Even gravity fluctuates and all scientific laws operate only within certain parameters.

Buddha said to rely on karma for total protection. Well, Mr. Karma can’t protect you directly but if we understand its principles, we can work with it to attain everlasting happiness and freedom from all suffering.

A chameleon may be fascinating for some, but if being one is not your cup of tea, then we have to know what or who Mr. Karma is to make sure we don’t become a reptile in our future rebirth. We can never be sure what stupid things we might have done in our previous lives.

The term ‘karma’ is popularly used as a noun, as in “bad karma” or “good karma”. You slipped on a banana skin, and it’s bad karma. Someone returned a lost item to you and that’s good karma. It’s a cool way to describe an event but there’s more to it than that.

The law of karma is a special instance of the natural causal laws operating in this universe whereby all our actions of body, speech and mind are the causes and our experiences are their effects.

All of us can understand cause and effect in its generality. For example, when there is thunder and lightning, we can expect rain; when sand and stone are mixed with cement, you get concrete. Things are produced when certain causes and conditions come together.

The karmic cause and effect we are referring to here applies to living beings and animate objects. A table or a boat don’t have good or bad karma.

More definitively, karma means action. It operates through volitional or willed activities. To understand karma better we need to know its three main components – actions, their effects and the imprints of actions.

When one engages in any action, upon its completion, it deposits an imprint or potentiality in one’s mindstream. When the right conditions are met, it will ripen and their results are experienced. These potentialities can lie dormant long after an action has been committed.

Whenever an action is performed, we get an immediate and a subsequent effect. For example, when we get angry and shout at  someone, our face gets hot and we immediately feel the pain or discomfort of anger. When this is over, an imprint has been deposited in our mindstream which can ripen as further negative repercussions  in the future.

As Buddhists, this is a very important point to understand. When an action has ripened, there is not much we can do about it. Even Buddhas can’t help us. For example, we are reborn as humans now and we have to live out our life in this form. It will be futile in this life, to pray to become an angel next morning or in 20 years time.

However, as long as the potentialities stay dormant, we have the opportunity to purify or to remove them so that they don’t create problems for us later. We have real hope to have a better future than our present one.

 

Next Week: Karma, Part 2 (Be a Karmic Doctor, not a Karmic Slave)

Comments are closed.