#4:佛法与僧伽

2010年1月26日 星期二 下午8:01 评论关闭

佛宝

佛法是佛陀的言论与陈述的记载。佛陀终其一生进行了八万四千次的佛法开示,每一次的开示好比特效良于能令众生从痛苦能在八万四千种苦难中获得解脫。

“佛法”这个词汇可以从多个层面来理解。最深的层面意指所有一切皆与佛法相关。万物的最终本质。世间万物都是在复杂的因果关系下诞生。万物皆并不存在任何内在或实质的价值。是我们赋予了万物价值。因此我们可以对任何东西产生有各种看法与信仰。

具备道德或论理基础的态度与行为也可以说是佛法。道德纪律是人类再生的因。人类各种的心理和物理组成部分提供了成为佛的理想基础物质。

当我们因佛而为达到内在的证悟,佛法知识那转变成佛法之宝。那是人类解決所有难题的万灵解药。在佛教教义里,一个人佛性强与否,就端视他对他人的关怀与抱负而定。

最基本的要求就是克服自己的坏习惯同时,不对他人造成伤害。一般而言,大家都没有伤害他人的念头,不过一旦情况有变和我们遭受损失或面对难题时,我们内在具伤害性的种籽将会被激活并影响他人。为了保护他人和我们自己,我们必须达到涅磐的宁静,以消除各种形式的痛苦。这就是所谓的解脱。

最高的渴望是对跟我们一样痛苦却不晓得如何解脱的众生起无限的慈悲心达致成佛的境界。唯有成佛,一个人才可能以其完美的智慧所产生的完善技能,协助众生成佛。

就现今而言,我们进行任何行为动作时,都不会怀抱上述目标。我们的动机往往是世俗的,比如只想获得盈利、赞美、名誉和快感、却想逃避损失、责怪、羞耻和不快。

我们如何跟这 “世俗的佛法”联系上?

我们相信外在的事物,能够带给我们快乐。我们一辈子都在追求外在事物与建立关系。直至佛陀出现以前,并没有人告诉我们真实可能大错特错。

佛陀说快乐存在于心灵,不是依赖外在事物。永恒的快乐的秘诀就在我们手中。甚至几百年后,耶稣基督也同样这么说。

往内在寻找是获得解脱的第一步。与其成为一个普通的人,不如成为一个有内涵的人—一个以心为导向和真正的佛法修行者。

对最细微性的佛宝本质的理解程度而言,我们进入其根基。它超越了本文要探讨的佛法是非二元论、非概念化与空的本质的范畴。我们需要知道和高兴的是,以上所提到的任何证悟思考都可以把我们带离痛苦,进而进入解脱的境界,永恒内在的宁静,以及证悟的极乐。

 

僧宝

这是一个灵性修行者的社群。严格来说,他们是在寺院里达到某种程度的证悟的持戒之人。真正的僧宝必须是达到某种程度的完美,是可以成为皈依对象的人。一般而言,僧伽也意指一个灵修团体中的成员。

僧伽实践佛陀的指示和紧守僧伽的道德纪律,就等于无疑能支持与激发所有在灵修路上的众生。他们是放弃世俗欢乐寻找更稳定高层次快乐的好榜样,他们不会停滞不前。

他们激发我们另辟人生途径,向我们展示证悟成佛是的可能性。世人不像他们反而象灯蛾扑火,并没有意识到外在的欲望常带领我们走向痛苦之道。我们无法看清正在享受的欢愉仅仅只是暂时性的减少痛苦。

皈依三宝,是进入佛法意的途径。佛陀的指示能保护我们,因为他告诉我们应该放弃什么(痛苦的因)以及应该培养什么(快乐与内在宁静的因)。

除了皈依的正途之外,别无其他方法可以百分百把你从轮回和恶道之中解救出来。

二千五百年的古老智慧就在你的眼前,电脑荧幕触手可及。

不要成为败者!最聪明的做法并不是买下全世界的珠宝,而是把自己变成一颗充满希望的珠宝。

我们都很幸运能现在就遇见佛法。

门已打开了,修行的道路也很明确。我们需要做的只是走下去。

犹如尊贵的詹杜固仁波切所言,“念念当下”,你甚至于可以把佛法的全球定位系统—《菩提道次第广论》带在身上,一路无误地走下去。

在旅途的终点,我们会见到我们梦想的世界成真—一个和平没有痛苦,且充满极乐的世界。

下周主题:业与变色龙

已停止接受评论

#4: The dharma & sangha jewels

26 January 2010 - 8:01pm Comments Off

The Dharma Jewel

Dharma is the sayings and discourses of the Buddha. The Buddha gave 84,000 teachings during his lifetime , each of which are specific antidotes to the 84,000 afflictions of our mind which give rise to suffering.

The term ‘Dharma’ can be understood at many levels. At the deepest level, everything can be said to be Dharma. This refers to the ultimate nature of all things. All things in this world arise in dependence upon various causes and conditions. From their side, they do not have any intrinsic or substantial values. We project or superimpose values onto them. This is why we can have different opinions and beliefs about anything.

Attitudes and behaviours  which have a moral or ethical base can also be considered Dharmic. Moral discipline is the cause of a human rebirth. The psycho-physical make up of a human provides the ideal basis to become a Buddha.

Dharma knowledge transforms into true Dharma Jewels when we attain inner realisations in dependence upon them. It is the actual medicine which can overcome all our problems. In Buddhism, how Dharmic one is has a direct relationship with how much one cares for others and one’s aspirations.

At the very least one should not cause harm to others by taking responsibility to overcome one’s negative habits. Normally one has no thoughts of harming others, but when conditions change and we suffer losses or when problems arise, the seeds of harmfulness in us will be activated and directed at others. To protect others and ourselves, one needs to be free from all kinds of suffering by attaining the peace of nirvana. This is called Liberation.

The highest aspiration is to attain Buddhahood out of compassion for others who are suffering just like us and who do not know how to get out. Only by becoming a Buddha can one have perfect skills arising from perfect wisdom to help others achieve the same.

Presently, when we engage in any actions, we do not have the above goals in mind. Our motivation is rooted in worldly concerns such as developing a liking for gain, praise, fame and sense pleasures and being averse to loss, blame, shame, and discomfort.

How did we get hooked to these worldly dharmas?

We believe that external things are the causes of happiness. We had spent our whole life chasing after these objects and relationships. Nobody told us until Buddha came along and admonished we are barking up the wrong tree.

He declared there is no happiness outside of one’s mind. The secret of everlasting happiness is within us. A few hundred years later, holy Jesus also declared the same.

Looking inwards is the first step towards attaining Liberation. Instead of being an ordinary external being, we become an inner being – a mind-oriented person, a true Dharma practitioner.

At the most subtle levels of understanding what a Dharma jewel is, we enter the profound. It is beyond the scope here to explore the Dharma realm that is non-dual, non-conceptual and void of inherent existence. What we need to understand and appreciate is that any of the above realizations will lead us out of all suffering and into permanent inner peace of Liberation and bliss of Enlightenment.

 

The Sangha Jewel

This is the spiritual community. Strictly speaking they are the ordained Sangha in a monastic institution who have attained certain qualities of realizations. A true Sangha jewel must necessarily be one who has attained some level of perfection in order to be a source of Refuge. Generally it can also apply to the members of a spiritual organisation.

The Sangha support and inspire those on the path by putting the Buddha’s instructions into practice and by upholding pure moral discipline. They are good examples of those who have renounced worldly pleasures and discovered a higher more stable quality of happiness without the accompanying push and pull forces.

They inspire us to adopt this alternative way of life, and show us that enlightenment is possible. Unlike them,  like a moth attracted to a candlelight, we do not realize external objects of desire lead us to suffering. We are blind to the reality that the pleasures we experience are merely a reduction of suffering.

Taking refuge in the 3 Jewels is called the Gateway to Buddhadharma.The instructions of the Buddha protect us by revealing to us what to abandon (causes of suffering) and what to cultivate (true causes of happiness and inner peace).

There are no other sources of Refuge that can offer total protection from the harms of cyclic existence and one’s self cherishing ways that keep us within this vicious cycle.

This 2500 year old wisdom is now right in front of you on your  pc screen.

Don’t be a loser! The smart and wise way is not to buy up all the jewels in the world, but to become a wishfulling jewel ourselves.

We are all very fortunate to meet the Dharma  now.

The door is open, the path is clear. We just have to walk.

As H.E. Tsem Rinpoche said, ‘If not now, when?’ You can even take a GPS along to guide you unmistakenly – its called the Lamrim.

At journeys end we will see the world we all wish for become reality – a peaceful world without suffering and where happiness is everlasting.

Next Week : Karma and Chameleon.

Comments are closed.