#24:想象力的力量

2010年7月13日 星期二 下午11:46 1 条评论

当我们以想象力把自己跟别人互相调换位置,当中没有危险也不会出现混淆,因为那并不是实质的调换。它也不涉及神灵附体或奇怪的嬗变过程。并没有任何人在这个过程中受到直接的影响,因为其中只涉及我们本身的情绪或态度。

我们真正要做的是什么?

我们只是把自己的自利心从它的原生地—我的心识—转移进而培植在一个新的地方,即他人的思想、感受及情绪上。

整个过程中,“我”变成参与调换位置的对方;“他或她”变成进行调换工程的自己(比如我们自己)。

要让这样的冥想成功,我们就有必要在自己的想象力中加上一定程度的同理心,同时还须有强烈信念,觉知这是加强利他心的特效方法。

对一个优越者的嫉妒心冥想

要进行这类冥想,适合进行位置调换的对象是无论在声誉、教育程度或财务状况都比我们拙劣的人。一旦鉴定了对象,我们就把自己全面又完整地融入这个对象的性格,犹如一个演员研究某个舞台的角色般。接下来,回头看之前那个满是嫉妒想法的自己(我们可以想象我们有钱有势)。

他或她一直是被人赞赏的对象。但是没有人称赞我或注意我。他有钱、在精英阶级及豪华场合中游走。反之,我总是孤独一人,从来没有人邀请我到豪华聚会、资源贫匮,只能对外面的美好事物摇头望叹。我没有时间放松自己、每天都埋头工作;对方却出入乘坐一等舱,工作有助理帮忙完成。他更是话题人物,我只是孤独活在自己的世界里。

我们必须了解,有钱有势的家伙那么吸引人又拥有用不尽的资源,是因为他累积了很多功德。如果我们(作为比较拙劣的那个)也同样累积这样的功德,好运自然来。

当我们开始陷入轻微的沮丧或气馁的情绪中时,(基于过分认同)我们可以选择这样想:

“这个人或许比我幸运,但是还有很多人比他更优越。我或许比较拙劣,但是还不是最糟糕的那个。还有很多比我拙劣、比我不幸的人。”

上述想法有助提升士气。一旦正面想法生起,我们应该提出这样的疑问:这家伙有什么大不了(那个家伙就是我们自己)。他跟我们有什么关联?

他只是有一些名衔、大名堂,但是他根本帮不上我们。我们躺在医院时或被老板炒鱿鱼时,他会帮一把还是给我们一份工作或给我们一个拥抱吗?或许别人对他的成就及善心称赞有加,如果我们自己及家人都不是其中的受益者,这样的表扬对我们而言是毫无意义,纯属宣传而已。

如果我们办到上述所有要求,在对治面对比我们拙劣的人或所谓地位身家比我们低的人时的虚假尊严特别有效。通过想象力,我们可以看得更清楚所有不同类型人的态度,更真实地展开人我关系。我们从中得到的将是比较客观平衡的观点。

自己跟比较拙劣的人互相调换位置,看见幸运及不幸运的人之间的不同处及本身的自私行为,所有的骄傲将消失。我们将发现自己根本就沒有条件自大,当我们发现只要自己还有一丝自私心,我们就跟其他比较不幸或拙劣的人五十步笑百步。

One Response to #24:想象力的力量

  1. [...] 把心识训练成以上三个方式(包括上星期的观想!),是训练我们对所有人打开爱及悲心,非常有威力及务实的方式。 [...]

#24: The power of imagination (Part 1)

13 July 2010 - 11:46pm Comments Off

When we use our imagination to exchange our self with others, there is no danger or confusion because the exchange taking place here is not a physical one. It has nothing to do with spirit possession or working on some kind of weird transmutation process. No one is directly affected because the emotions or attitudes generated are only directed at ourselves.

What are we really doing?

We are merely transplanting our self-cherishing attitude from its place of origin – our mind – and cultivating it in a new field – the thoughts, feelings and emotions of others.

In the process, the ‘I’ is now used to refer to someone else while ‘he’ (or ‘she’) refers to the practitioner of the exchange (i.e. us).

For the meditation to be successful, we need to conjoin our imagination with some degree of empathy and with the strong faith that this is a very effective way to strengthen the altruistic mind to benefit others.


Meditation on jealousy towards a superior

To perform this meditation, the appropriate candidate for exchange should be someone who is inferior to us in respect of reputation, education level, or financial status. Once we have identified such a person, we relate as completely as possible with such a personality, just like an actor studying a certain character he is portraying on stage. The second step is to now look back at our former self with jealous thoughts (we can imagine we are rich and famous in comparison).

He (or she) is always being praised for his good qualities. No one praises me or pays me any attention. He has money, moves among the elite and is seen in fine places. In contrast, I am always lonely, am never invited to glamorous functions, am without resources and can only gawk at the beautiful things in life. I have no time for leisure and my daily routine is toiling at work, while he travels first class and has an entourage to do his menial tasks. His name is on everyone’s lips while I live under my own shadow.

We need to understand that the only reason the rich and famous guy is attractive to others and has unlimited resources is because he has a treasure of virtue in him. If we (as the inferior person) develop virtuous qualities, we too will have such good fortunes.

When we start falling into a light state of depression or discouragement, we arrest such over exertion (due to over identification) by thinking:

“This man of fortune may have better qualities than me but there are many who have more than him. Inferior I may be, but I am still not the bottom of the barrel. There are also many with worse qualities and lack of resources than me.”

The above thoughts function to uplift us. When a positive mind state is present, we should question what is the big deal about the guy (remember he is actually our former self). Is he real for us?

He may have come with titles and a big reputation but he did nothing to help us. When we are in hospital or we are fired by our boss, did he lend us a helping hand, give us a job or give us a hug? People may praise his success and virtues in helping others, but if we and our family and friends are not the beneficiaries, such accolades do not mean much to us and it is all just a lot of hype.

If we do the above well, it will have the specific benefit of countering the false pride we usually feel in relation to our inferiors or those we consider to be of lower status and means. Through the force of our imagination, we can bring all kinds of people and their attitudes closer, and place them in a more real relationship with us. The result we achieve is a balanced view.

By taking the position of the lower person, and seeing the discrepancy between having good fortune and status and our selfish behavior, all such pride will vanish. We will see that there is no basis for haughtiness when we realise that as long as we still have our selfish traits in us, we are no better than those with lesser means or capacities.

Comments are closed.