#12: 哈利佛陀—治疗和药物

2010年4月1日 星期四 上午4:34 评论关闭

那些一直追看这个系列的朋友,我们今天来到一个重大的里程碑;就看你怎么做出抉择,你可以选择终止无止境的痴与苦,然后开展一个全新的,不只可以为你带来永恒的快乐,也可以让你具备帮助别人获得永恒快乐的能力的生涯。

首先,无论如何,我们必须搞清楚先后次序。我们要终止所有难题与痛苦,然后追寻圣人与证悟者的足迹?或者,我们放弃机会,退缩,回到旧有的习性,旧有的思维方式,继续生活在没有尽头的不满足感之中?

这可以克服我们所有的痛苦2千5百年古老方法是什么?那就是脱离三毒嗔、痴、贪。

在佛教里,我们称它为涅槃,也就是达到内在宁静、安稳和常在的境界。不过,这跟石化或疏离是不一样的。

当一个人的心识达到这么一个纯净的境界,他的觉醒能力是非常敏锐和清晰的,可以看见物体原本的性质在不加不减的状态中。大师说这是一个很酷的境界,一般的字眼很难贴切地形容。那就是佛陀微笑的秘诀了!看起来,如果真能用文字来形容的话,就不是真实的物体了。对不起,你必须自己达致此境界,然后自己感到满怀喜悅,就像佛陀那样!

在这一刻,如果你渴望自由,也准备服药。这完全看你的心到底有没有对自己想要完全治好神经性的信心有多強。

其中一个选择就是服药,让自己解脱,然后心满意足。你逃离了轮回,从此自己在天堂快乐地过日子,不管其他人的死活。你不理别人,别人也不干涉你。这个选择是不是很有意义?

你心爱的人、家人或任何对你很重要的人,还有仍在受苦的人呢?你不希望跟他们分享这个药方吗?我们之中有多少人会在尝到好吃又便宜的东西时完全不告诉其他人?自己偷偷独享美味的做法既不近人情也很自私。如果每个人都没有解脱的心愿,或分享药方的话那就不成问题。无论如何,我不觉得宇宙中会有人不认同这个心愿。

达赖喇嘛常常说,人类有能力升起慈悲等如此真善美的品质,即希望他人脱离苦的心愿,确实是件很奇妙的事。

如果你的心识把你带往这慈悲的方向,如果你觉得这个帮助他人面对痛苦的选择比较有意义,你就有机会在灵修路上大跃进,甚至超越涅槃的局限,来到菩萨和佛的界。

这样一个利他的动机,你就跳过了带你迈向涅槃的普通药物,然后迈向前。去吧,去服用慈悲与智慧制成的药,这些药不止会让我们解脱,还会加强我们解除众生痛苦的本领与知识。

还有没有其他更加有意义和满足人心的作业?除了我们,还有其他人吗?感谢我们的功德,我们找到了这个全能的药方之王,我们要捉住它。现在不做,更待何时?


下期预告: 完美之路

已停止接受评论

#12: Hallebuddhaya: The cure and the medicine

1 April 2010 - 4:34am Comments Off

For those who have been following this series so far, we have reached a milestone here which can be considered momentous – depending on one’s decision, it can end countless lifetimes of ignorance and suffering and herald the beginning of a career which not only brings one permanent happiness but also equips one to help others achieve the same.

First however, let us get our priorities right. Do we want an end to all our problems and miseries, and to follow in the footsteps of the saints and Enlightened ones who have gone beyond? Or do we throw away the opportunity, chicken out and succumb to our old habituated views and ways to remain stuck in this unending cycle of unsatisfactoriness?

What is this 2500-year old cure which can transcend all our sufferings? It is the attainment of this state of mind which is free from the three poisons of ignorance, desirous attachment and hatred.

In Buddhism we call it nirvana. In practical terms, it is a state of inner peace and bliss that arises from a mind that has been calmed and made immune to external and internal disturbances. No, it is not the same as being stoned or spaced out.

When one’s mind is in such a state of perfect purity, one’s awareness is said to be super sharp and so clear that one can see things as they are, in their own nature – that is, without adding anything to it or subtracting from it. The masters said it is so cool, ordinary words cannot describe it adequately. That’s the secret of a Buddha’s smile! Apparently, if it can be described, it is not the real thing. Sorry, it looks like you got to attain it yourself and then be happily quiet about it, just like a Buddha!

At this juncture, if you are yearning for freedom and ready to take the medicine you have two exciting options. It depends on how much your heart is moved by the prospect of knowing you can be cured of all your neuroses.

One option is just to take the plain medicine, free yourself and be satisfied with that, period. You disappear from samsara for good and live happily ever after in nirvanaland without a care in the world. No one needs to care about you and you don’t care for no one. Does this option sound meaningful?

What about your loved ones, family members, anyone who means anything to you, who are still suffering? Don’t you want to share the cure with them? How many of us would keep quiet after having eaten at a place which serves great food at bargain prices? It seems almost unnatural and selfish that we can just delight in something and keep it to ourselves. It would be alright if no one had the same wish to be free, or shared the need for such a cure. However, I don’t think there is anyone in this universe who does not share this wish.

It is amazing how humans have the capacity to develop such a virtuous quality like compassion – the wish for others to be free from suffering.

If your heart moves you in the direction of this compassionate wish, if you find this other option to help others overcome their miseries much more meaningful, you have the opportunity to take a giant leap in your spirituality and go beyond the outer limits of nirvanaland into the limitless realm of the Bodhisattvas and Buddhas.

With such an altruistic motivation, you skip the plain medicine that takes you to nirvanaland and advance to GO. Go take the medicine flavoured with compassion and wisdom that will not only free us, but will fortify us with skills and knowledge that can help everyone that is out there suffering.

Is there any other career that is more meaningful and fulfilling? Who else can do it but us? Thanks to our merits, we have found this mother-of-all medicine, we gotta take it. If not now, WHEN?

 

NEXT: The Road to Perfection

Comments are closed.