2006年甘丹之旅

2009年5月2日 星期六 下午12:24 评论关闭

我们的上师,尊贵的詹杜固仁波切就来自这里。在这里你能看到传授佛法和修行永恒佛法的传统。

在甘丹寺,人们最重视的是尊崇他们的上师,其次是佛教经文,因为通过他们的上师才能学习及理解这些佛法。最重要的,这也是珍贵的佛法如何能一代代相传,成为殊胜不可打破的传承,并通过这种传承能够回向给我们永生的上师佛祖。

位于南印度的甘丹寺

2006年4月,仁波切带领我们一行62人前往印度甘丹寺。我们到达的时候已是破晓时分,僧侣们专门为我们进行了一次法会,轻轻念诵。有人告诉我们他们不须一定要参加,纯粹是志愿出席。

尊贵的詹杜固仁波切受到盛大隆重的欢迎仪式

3000名僧人坐满了大经堂和庭院

嘉华仁波切的法座

向尊贵法座进行供养

当我们走进甘丹寺正殿时,3000余名僧侣正在念诵经文欢迎我们。这是他们送给我们的礼物,也同时欢迎他们的佛法兄弟,我们的仁波切,离开12年后再次归来。

62名进入大殿的朝圣者!

在整个法会中,仁波切慢慢向我们解释什么是法会,它有什么重要性。晚些时候我们吃了一顿丰盛的早餐,有西藏的酥油茶和西藏面包,都是寺里的厨房专门为我们准备的。

仁波切解释着整个过程

吃完早餐后,我们也向僧侣们回赠了我们的供养,包括3000尊文殊菩萨像,和给每位僧侣的僧袍和红包。每个人,包括只有5岁大的小僧都得到了同样的供养。

朝圣者供养的3000 件僧袍...

... 3000尊供养给甘丹僧人的文殊菩萨像!

供养堪殊干竹泽令仁波切

供养众僧人

仁波切解释说文殊菩萨像的供养是非常有价值的,因为那是智慧佛。接收者会收到文殊菩萨的加持,精进他们的持修,而赠与者也因此积累了大量善因。

比较年轻的僧人耐心的等候在大经堂外的庭院里...

... 直到他们接收克切拉朝圣者的供养

供养仪式完成....

完成供养之后,我们离开正殿开始参观整个寺庙,能有像我们上师这样优秀的响导,我们真是太荣幸了。

... 僧侣返回自己的宿舍

我们先从参观仁波切的根本上师,至尊宋仁波切的住处开始。现世年轻的宋仁波切是当年教授詹仁波切的根本上师的灵童转世。我们对至尊进行了大量供养,同时我们的上师也向他的根本上师汇报了克切拉组织的发展状况。宋仁波切赞扬了仁波切所做的出色工作,宋仁波切一直都在鼓励詹仁波切继续弘法。

尊贵的詹杜固仁波切和他的根本上师, 至尊宋仁波切

解释克切拉在马来西亚的弘法工作

随后仁波切带我们去了宋仁波切房子外面的一个简陋小屋,就在牛棚旁边,这个看起来像一个窝棚的地方就是多年前仁波切还没来马来西亚时的住所。仁波切说他一直都非常开心能住在那里,因为他能够静修佛法。仁波切说,总之他珍惜能与甘丹寺的许多伟大上师们只是相隔咫尺之遥。

詹仁波切位于宋仁波切房子里的旧房间

接着,我们拜见了甘丹寺很多的活佛。他们如此著名,是因为通过佛法开示得以流传,而开示只有上师才能进行。没有上师,一个学生对佛法的理解可能就有所缺或者是错误、和曲解了。所以,能拜会听从于上师或活佛,实在是一件极珍贵的事。

供养甘丹萨济寺住持,尊贵的堪仁波切

两位伟大思想家的会面 - 尊贵的詹杜固仁波切和尊贵的夏巴佐杰仁波切

仁波切觉得我们太幸运了,因为不仅可以朝见一位上师,在那天就见了好几位活佛。从现在的甘丹寺住持,到从前的主持,我们甚至还去了邻近的哲蚌寺,去朝观另外一位德高望重的活佛。在这期间,我们有幸对整个甘丹寺的圣像进行各种供养,从宗喀巴大师到文殊菩萨,还有克切拉和甘丹寺的护法神 – 金甲衣护法。

在金甲衣护法神殿

对任何潜心佛法的弟子,供养都是最具加持的修行,积累功德,进一步亲近我们供养的圣佛。举个例子,如果我们向宗喀巴大师进行供养,我们就在发心成为像他一样修得大成的誓愿,或培养了大量他住世时具备的伟大品质,也能够积累大量善因精进我们的佛法修行。

宗喀巴大师和两位弟子

随着天暗下来,我们也从哲蚌寺返回甘丹寺。在回住所前我们还有最后一站,就是朝观殊胜的格西耶喜。仁波切解释说,当僧侣进行皈依誓愿时,他就显现出其达致的修行成就。格西耶喜能够散发出一股淡淡香气,因为他完美地履行了自己的誓愿。

仁波切在格西耶喜的道场进行一个简短的讲法之后,我们告别了甘丹,带着各自对神圣的文殊菩萨像的记录,大量照片,最重要的是又获得了巨大加持和更多的佛法知识。

一天将尽,让甘丹寺如此与众不同的并不是雄伟的院墙和金顶。而那些院墙保护并增加了这殊胜的工作。真正使甘丹寺显得出众是这些佛法开示通过每一位活佛一代一代在这里传承下来。当弟子皈依时,从他们的上师那里开始真正修习佛法,他们迟早也会成为活佛。

快乐的年轻面孔

新的僧袍!

这就是永存且神圣不可动摇的传承核心脉络。这就是为什么甘丹寺在西藏消失之后还能在印度重建的原因。它的精神永远不会黯淡消失,然而,世界是与时俱进的。在这方面,甘丹寺可以在世界的任何地方,从这个角度,甘丹寺永远不会被破坏。

在朝圣者回家前,寺院举行了一场大法会

我们的甘丹之旅被记录存档,你可以在克切拉天堂和克切拉网上商店购买此光盘。若你能与克切拉新纪元来一场甘丹之旅,将可获得一种生命的体验,那就再好不过了。

已停止接受评论

Gaden 2006

2 May 2009 - 12:24pm Comments Off

This is where our Guru, His Eminence Tsem Rinpoche comes from. And this is where you will witness the timeless traditions of the Buddha Dharma being taught and practised.

In Gaden, they value and revere their Gurus the most; close second is their Buddhist texts because it is through their Gurus that the teachings and understanding of these teachings can take place. Most importantly, this is how the precious teachings can be passed from one generation to the next, to form that sacred unbroken lineage which can traced all the way to the original immortal beloved Guru: BUDDHA.

Gaden Monastery in South India

In April 2006, Rinpoche took 62 of us to Gaden, India. We arrived at the break of dawn amid the soft mesmerising chants of monks attending a puja dedicated especially to us. We were told that they did not have to participate at all, and attendance was purely voluntary.

H.E. Tsem Rinpoche receives a grand welcome from the monastery

3000 monks fill the Lachi and the courtyard beyond

When we walked into the main prayer hall of Gaden Lachi, we were greeted by over 3000 monks chanting away, deeply engaged in the puja. This was their gift or offering to us, and to welcome back their much loved Dharma brother, our Rinpoche, after more than 12 years of absence.

Enter the pilgrims, all 62 of them!

Throughout the puja, Rinpoche took the time to explain in detail what the puja meant and the significance of it. We were later treated to a hearty breakfast of Tibetan butter tea and Tibetan bread, specially prepared for us from the monastery’s kitchen.

Rinpoche gives an explanation of the proceedings

After digesting our breakfast, we all readied to make our own offering to the monks in return. The offerings comprised of 3000 Manjushri statues, robes and money to gift to each monk. Everyone, including little monks as young as five years old, received the very same offerings.

The pilgrims offerings 3000 sets of robes...

... and 3000 Manjushri statues to the Sangha of Gaden!

Making offerings to H.E. Kensur Konchok Tsering Rinpoche

Making offerings to the Sangha

Rinpoche explained that the offering of Manjushri statues was especially rewarding because Manjushri is the Buddha of Wisdom. The recipients will be blessed by Manjushri and gain realisations in their academic pursuits, while the givers will receive multitude of merits in return.

The younger monks wait patiently in the courtyard just outside the main prayer hall...

... until it is their turn to receive the offerings from the Kechara pilgrims

At last the offerings are completed....

After we had completed making our offerings, we left the main prayer hall to begin our official tour of the monastery, so fortunate were we to have our Guru as our immaculate tour guide.

... and the monks return to their quarters

We began with the visit to Rinpoche’s root Guru’s residence, H.H. Kyabje Zong Rinpoche. The current Zong Rinpoche is the young reincarnation of the late Guru who had personally taught Rinpoche. We made extensive offerings to His Holiness and our Guru took the opportunity to update his Guru on the developments of Kechara. Zong Rinpoche commended Rinpoche for all the wonderful work that he has been doing and urged him to continue teaching the Dharma.

H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and his root guru, H.H Kyabje Zong Rinpoche

Explaining about Kechara's work in Malaysia

Then Rinpoche led us to a little shack just outside of Zong Rinpoche’s house. Located next to a cowshed, this shanty-like abode was where Rinpoche had lived for several years before coming to Malaysia. Rinpoche remarked that he had been extremely happy living in that shed, because he could truly engage in his Dharma practice. Rinpoche said that above all, he valued being within walking distance of the many great Masters in Gaden.

Rinpoche's old room in Zong Ladrang

From there, we made more visits to many Living Buddhas in Gaden. They are known as such because the Dharma comes alive from the teachings, and teachings can only take place with a Guru. Without the Guru, a student’s understanding of the Dharma may be lacking or worse, be misunderstood and misinterpreted. So, an audience with a Guru, or a Living Buddha is most priceless indeed.

Making offerings to H.E. Ken Rinpoche, the Abbot of Gaden Sharts

A meeting of two great minds - H.E. Tsem Rinpoche and H.E. Sharpa Choeje Rinpoche

Rinpoche made sure that we had the golden opportunity to have an audience with not just one, but several Living Buddhas that day. From the current Abbot of Gaden, to the former Abbot of Gaden, we even went to neighbouring Drepung Monastery to pay our respects to another venerable Lama, Gen Wangchen. In between, we had the good fortune to make various offerings to the many sacred statues all over Gaden.

In the Setrapkhang - the Protector House

Making offerings is a most blessed practice for any aspiring Dharma student, to collect merits and to create an affinity to what we are making an offering towards. So, for example, if we were making an offering to Lama Tsongkhapa, we are making an aspiration to become just like him or to cultivate the many great qualities that he possessed during his lifetime. We would be collecting huge amount of merits to enable our Dharma practice to be expedited, or deepened.

Tsongkhapa and two disciples

As the sun began to set on the horizon, we made our way back to Gaden from Drepung Monastery. We had one final stop to make before going back to our hotel, and that was to have a private audience with the holy Geshe Yeshe. Rinpoche explained that when a monk holds his vows with commitment, he will exhibit clear, visible signs of his attainments. In the case of Geshe Yeshe, he exudes a faint fragrant scent around him because he has kept his vows very well.

After a short Dharma discourse that Rinpoche gave in Geshe Yeshe’s residence, we bid farewell to Gaden, and left with mementos of our very own consecrated Manjushri statues, numerous photographs and most of all, the immeasurable blessings and learning gained.

At the end of the day, it is not the majestic walls and golden rooftops that make Gaden Monastery so special. It is the sacred works that those walls protect and proliferate. These divine teachings are passed down from one generation to another, through each Living Buddha. And when students commit themselves to the true learning of the Dharma from their Gurus, they will also, in time, become a Living Buddha themselves.

Happy young faces

New robes!

This is what perpetuates the essential thread of a divine unbroken lineage. This is perhaps why Gaden can be re-established in India even after its destruction in Tibet. Its spirit will never dim or fade, however the world chooses the change with time. In this respect, Gaden can be truly anywhere in the world. In this respect, Gaden can never be destroyed.

A grand puja was held in the monastery before the pilgrims returned home

Our journey to Gaden was documented and you can obtain a copy of the DVD from any of the Kechara Paradise outlets or the Kechara e-shop to witness what our journey was all about. Better yet, make your own journey to Gaden with Kechara Discovery, and gain an experience of a lifetime.

Comments are closed.