2005年菩提迦耶之旅

2009年5月1日 星期五 上午8:00 评论关闭

当我们坐在菩提树下,沐浴着我们的是2500年前佛陀证悟圣地的幸福和安宁,仁波切清脆的声音萦绕着我们,鼓励我们体验那既有治疗性又神秘的神圣能量。

“我们来这里是要体验一种经历,感受这种经历所带来的体验,而并非只是肤浅的体验开示话语的表层。我们来这里种下觉知的种子,并决心培养出像这位印度修行者 – 佛陀般的正面品德。我们来这里是要提升对所爱之人的仁爱。”

菩提迦耶之菩提树

“我们来这里是要是膜拜释迦牟尼佛,他通过放下我执而跨越了愤怒、嫉妒和对身体的依附。我们来到这里,因为佛陀在这里找到了结束轮回和受业力牵引的方法。我们来这里是为了要提升对所爱之人的仁爱。”

来自世界各地的僧人都来菩提伽耶朝圣

仁波切告诉我们这段生命会结束,所有事情都会过去,一切都将随风而去。所以,趁我们现在还行,应该有勇气去改变,而不仅仅是坐在这里,如仁波切在另一处圣地所说的:“我被改变了,我被感动了,但是没有根本上的转变。”

每年都有成千上万的朝圣者来到菩提迦耶膜拜佛祖,这是世界的圣地之一。但是对我们从瑞士、新西兰、菲律宾、香港、泰国和马来西亚来的这52名朝圣者,这次旅程标志着新生活的开始。我们在殊胜的菩提树下与我们的庇护上师共同体验这独特、真实的经历,留下难以磨灭的印迹,这也将改变我们未来的生活。

信徒们每天都集合在这里做大礼拜

周六早上5时45分,对大部分人来说还太早,但是对于这群经过科伦坡远道而来的人可没关系。圣诞节的早晨我们从克切拉佛教中心出发,踏上了几个月来梦寐以求的旅程。终于成行了,这次旅程我们6年前就开始计划,经过3小时的飞行,几个小时的汽车颠簸,才到达这里,而我们终于做到了。

在科伦坡逗留了一晚,我们开始了前往菩提迦耶的第二段旅程。飞机在上午11点15分从科伦坡起飞,2小时后到达菩提迦耶,降落在一片空旷之地,机场太小了,几乎分辨不出哪里是机场。

入关后,就是成群的熟悉的面孔,我们看到格西山都旺朱、格西布苏多杰、罗桑旺朱和康朱多杰,所有仁波切的属下僧侣都从甘丹寺赶来,还有古格南亚。他们以哈达向我们致以热烈欢迎。他们告诉仁波切因为发生了里氏震级9级的地震,引起巨大海啸,摧毁了南亚沿海的大量村落。僧侣们和古格一直担心我们的安全,因为斯里兰卡是受灾难影响最大的地区,我们后来听说,我们离开科伦坡半小时后,海啸就袭来了。

佛陀的“脚印”

大乘佛教旅馆,这就是我们接下来三天的家,步行10分钟就可以到达大觉佛塔,这是我们所有活动的中心。它位于喧闹繁华的城中央。临时通道上拥堵了一排排车辆,从家庭经营的食品店到那些提供大量佛法器物,比如念珠、佛像、经轮到哈达的商店。引用美国国家地理iExplorer网站的说法,来这里旅行是“对感官的全面性摧毁” – 视觉、气味、声音和味道。菩提迦耶完全不同,它让我们体验到感官和动念两极化的经验,和我们曾经去过的大部分地方都不同。

向三宝供灯

接下来三天的行程有所不同。当菩提迦耶还在沉睡中时,一些人已经从他们温暖的床上爬起来出发前往佛塔了,在那里他们与数百名朝圣者跪拜、供养、绕行或静坐观想。在佛塔可以听到不同语言的响亮念诵声。晚上的时候,这里被成百上千点燃的酥油灯照得温暖通亮,这使人们有机会供养,祈愿驱散黑暗的无明。

寺里的僧人在帮助朝圣团...

在佛塔里,我们向最接近佛陀的佛像进行香供,并供以僧袍、水果和鲜花。据说在佛陀圆寂后60年的时候,有一个曾经在佛陀驻世时亲眼见到佛陀的妇人,她让四个儿子根据她的描述刻画了佛陀的肖像。

... 供养袈裟于佛陀

佛陀与供养的袈裟

如果佛像之美没有占据你的思想,那么或许这座宏大雄伟的佛塔可以,因为这是一个建筑的奇迹。在夜晚,被聚光灯照亮,整个佛塔看起来光辉四射,就好象希望的灯塔鼓舞那些迷途的人。各种各样的佛像和女神—白度母、绿度母、文殊菩萨、观世音菩萨都被雕刻在佛塔中,当我们在大理石地面上绕行的时候我们就能认出他们。仁波切说:“这些佛都不是始源于西藏,实际上他们都是来自印度。西藏人说我们的文字和宗教来自印度、食物和服装来自蒙古,茶来自中国—没有一样东西属于我们自己。”

雕刻精美的佛塔

第二天一早举行了一个皈依仪式。在简短的讲解皈依的重要意义之后,一行人单腿跪地,请求皈依于仁波切。其中一些人是更新他们的皈依誓愿。曼达拉供之后,念诵皈依心咒,仁波切主持了皈依仪式。然后他分发了皈依卡片,上面写着他们的法号。

这些是你们的新法号。这并不是说你一定要更改自己的名字……那只意味着你所要追求的美好品质。

在菩提树下与尊贵的詹杜固仁波切进行皈依仪式

此行另一个精彩部分是参观根学院,这是喇嘛梭巴仁波切的静修中心。我们一行人和仁波切有幸向中心供奉了一尊宗喀巴大师像和大师的两个弟子像。当我们52个人引领着佛像,依次愉悦地排成一队伍向前走,有水果、鲜花、香供和哈达,和着甘丹寺的音调唱诵密西玛。仁波切提到过很多次供奉宗喀巴大师的重要意义:

“只要有宗喀巴大师的地方,就有成长、和平与和谐。象根学院这样的非凡场所,数以千计的人从四面八方来到这里学习佛法,这为此地方的成长积累巨大的功德,给学习的人带来加持。”

一名老僧侣在菩提寺里禅修

我们坐在院里的时候,仁波切重申供奉宗喀巴大师像的重要意义,“人们来这里有一个原因就只为了修习佛法。学习、聆听、观想和付诸实践,这过程需要很多努力。如果我们在这里供奉了这些佛像,很多人会来到这里进行供养,他们会为自己的修习积累善业,那我们就作出了贡献。”

“我们的这种供养应该受到尊重的另一个原因是,我们是在供奉一位得道高僧,一位活菩萨,我们那时候最伟大的上师(梭巴仁波切)。所以当上师听到,来这里看到了,我们就有了无限功德。那会精进我们的禅修。”

到说再见的时候了...

离开菩提迦耶后,我们又回到了斯里兰卡,继续我们最后一个朝圣地–康提,我们在那里参观了著名的佛牙寺,寺里供存着佛祖的牙齿。在当地的一家珠宝博物馆稍作逗留后,我们在山顶的一家中餐馆吃午饭,享受着微风习习,俯瞰着人工湖的美景和周围的山丘。在回科伦坡的路上,我们专门参观了内观静修中心Upali Tera,那是首位泰国僧侣正式受训的地方。

我们一行在12月31日踏上了回航班机,心满意足的我们,虽然疲惫但是仍然处于兴奋状态之中。再次踏上吉隆坡的土地使菩提迦耶之旅像做了一场梦,一个海市蜃楼。突然之间,娑婆世界似乎失去了吸引力。看来去菩提迦耶真是个不错的主意。

已停止接受评论

Bodhgaya 2005

1 May 2009 - 8:00am 1 Comment

As we sat under the bodhi tree bathed in the bliss and tranquility of the sacred spot where Lord Buddha found enlightenment 2,500 years ago, Rinpoche’s crisp voice aroused us from our repose with a clarion call to experience and feel the divine energy that is both healing and mystifying.

“We are here to experience an experience, to feel an experience to experience, not just an experience to talk about. We are here to plant seeds, develop the awareness and determination to generate the exact qualities of this one Indian man, Lord Buddha. We are here to increase love to the people we love.”

The Bodhi Tree

“We are here to pay homage to Buddha Shakyamuni who overcame his anger, jealousy and attachments to his body by stopping to think about himself. We are here because He found the way to stop taking rebirth and being controlled by karma. We are here to increase love to the people we love.”

Sangha from all over the world pay homage to Lord Buddha at Bodhgaya

Rinpoche reminded us that this life will end, everything will end, and everything will be thrown to the wind. So while we have the chance now, we should develop the courage to transform and not just sit here at another holy place saying, “I’m changed, I’m moved but NO transformation.”

Every year thousands of pilgrims journey to Bodhgaya, one of  the world`s holiest places, to pay homage to Lord Buddha. But for most of us 52 pilgrims from Switzerland, New Zealand, Philippines, Hong Kong, Thailand and Malaysia, this journey will mark the beginning of a new lease of  life. Our unique and spontaneous experiences felt with our refuge Lama under the sacred bodhi tree will leave indelible imprints which will transform our lives forever.

Pilgrims gather early every morning to perform prostrations

5:45am on a Saturday is too early for most people, but not for this group who are en route to Bodhgaya via Colombo. Yes, that’s right – Christmas morning! We set off from our dharma centre Kechara House, on a journey that has been eagerly anticipated for many months. And it’s true! It has taken us six years of talking, 3 hours of flying and many hours of bumpy bus rides to get to this stage, and we finally did it.

After a night’s layover in Colombo, we departed on the second leg of our journey to Bodhgaya. The plane took off from Colombo at 11:15am and touched down in Bodhgaya two hours later, smack in the middle of a barren landscape, next to an airport barely distinguishable from the ground because it was just that small.

Passing through immigration, familiar faces in the crowd emerged – Geshe Tsundue Wangchuk, Geshe Puntsok Dorje, Lobsang Wangchuk and Konchok Dorje – all Rinpoche’s monks from Gaden, as well as Kunga Namgyal. They were there to greet us warmly with kathas. Rinpoche learned from them that there had been a massive earthquake measuring 9 on the Richter scale, causing a giant Tsunami that had devastated numerous coastal communities throughout South Asia. The monks and Kunga had been worried for our safety as Sri Lanka had been one of the most badly affected areas, but we were relieved to hear that we had left half an hour before the Tsunami struck.

Buddha's 'footprints'

The Mahayana Guest House, our home for the next three days, is a 10 minutes’ walk from the Mahabodhi Stupa, and in the middle of all the action. It is located in the town centre which is the hive of activity. Jam-packed with rows upon rows of makeshift stalls, ranging from the family-operated food stalls, to those proffering a variety of dharma items such as malas, Buddha statues, prayer wheels and kathas. To quote the National Geographic iExplorer site, a trip here is an “all-out assault on the senses” – the sights, the smells, the sounds, the tastes. Bodhgaya is vastly different, both sensually and motivationally, from any other place most of us have been.

Offering lights to the Three Jewels

The daily routine for the next three days would deviate a little. Some arose from the warmth of their beds when most of Bodhgaya was asleep and set out for the Stupa, where they were joined by hundreds of other pilgrims doing prostrations, making offerings, circumambulating, or simply sitting and meditating. Sonorous chanting in various languages could be heard at the Stupa. At night the place was warmly lit up by the glow of thousands upon thousands of butter lamps, which the group had the opportunity to offer with the motivation to dispel the darkness of ignorance.

A resident monk assists the pilgrims...

Inside the Stupa, we made offerings of incense, robes, fruits, and flowers to the closest replica of Lord Buddha. It was said that 60 years after His passing, a woman who had actually seen the Buddha in person during His lifetime, asked her four sons to commission an image of Him according to her descriptions.

... to offer robes to Lord Buddha's image

Robes offered to the Buddha

If the beauty of the statue does not hold your imagination, then maybe the magnificence of the Stupa will, as it is an architectural marvel to behold. At night, lit up by spotlights, the whole Stupa seemed to glow, almost like a beacon of hope to inspire those who had gone off the path. Various images of Buddhas and deities – White Tara, Green Tara, Manjushri, Avalokiteshvara – were carved into the Stupa, and we recognised them as we circumambulated on the cool marble floor. Rinpoche said, “Note that these deities aren’t Tibetan in origin, they actually came from India. The Tibetans say our script and religion come from India, our food and clothes come from Mongolia, and our tea comes from China – nothing we have belongs to us.

Exquisitely carved images adorn the stupa walls

On the second morning the refuge ceremony was held. After a short discourse on the significance of taking refuge, the group got up on one knee to request for refuge from Rinpoche. For some it was a request to renew their refuge vows. After a mandala offering, refuge prayers were recited and Rinpoche conducted the refuge ceremony. He then handed out the refuge cards with Dharma names written on them.

These are your new Dharma names. It doesn’t mean you have to change your name… it just means  it is a quality you should aspire towards.

Taking refuge with H.E. Tsem Rinpoche under the Bodhi Tree

The next highlight of our trip was a visit to Root Institute, Lama Zopa’s meditation centre. Our group and Rinpoche had the great honour to offer a set of statue of Lama Tsongkhapa and his two disciples to the centre. What a grand sight to behold when 52 of us ushered in the statues, walking joyfully in single file, with offerings of fruits, flowers, incense and kathas, singing Migtsema to the tune of Gaden Monastery. Rinpoche had mentioned many times the significance of having a Lama Tsongkhapa statue:

“Wherever there is Lama Tsongkhapa, there will be growth, peace and harmony. And for such a wonderful place like Root Institute where thousands of people from all over come to study the Buddhadharma, it will help increase enormous merits for the growth of the place and for anyone who propitiates His blessings.”

An old monk meditates within the confines of the Mahabodhi temple complex

While we were sitting in the gompa, Rinpoche reiterated the significance of offering a Lama Tsongkhapa statue. “People are here for a reason – to practice the Dharma. To learn, to listen, to contemplate and put into action and it took a lot of effort to get here. So if we offer things here, many will come through here to make offerings and they will be able to collect merits towards their practice, and we contributed to that!”

“Another reason why we should be honoured to make such an offering is that we are offering to a high being, a living Bodhisattva, one of the greatest Lamas of our time (Lama Zopa). So when the Lama hears, comes and sees, we get incredible waves of merits. That will contribute to our spiritual practice!”

Saying goodbye before returning to Malaysia

After Bodhgaya, we returned to Sri Lanka and continued our last leg of our pilgrimage to Kandy, where we visited the famous Tooth Relic Temple, housing the tooth of Lord Buddha.  After a quick stop at a local gem museum, we had lunch in a Chinese restaurant atop a hill, enjoying a cool breeze, overlooking a majestic view of a man-made lake and surrounding hillsides. On the way back to Colombo, we paid a special visit to a Vipasanna meditation centre, Upali Tera, where the first Thai monk was actually trained.

Our group was finally homeward-bound on December 31st, satiated, tired but still in high spirits. Stepping foot in KL again made Bodhgaya seem like a dream, a far-off place. Suddenly, “samsara” seems so much less appealing. Maybe moving to “Bodhgaya” doesn’t seem like a bad idea.

One Response to Bodhgaya 2005

  1. [...] In the Buddhist tradition, collecting merits through pujas or visiting sacred places will help to clear one’s obstacles to practice the Dharma. For this reason, I advised Sharon’s father to conduct a few pujas and to also go on a pilgrimage to Bodhgaya… which they happily accepted. It was the first time visiting Bodhgaya for Sharon and her family, but everything went smoothly thanks to Dato Ruby Khong who decided to follow them. Dato Ruby has been to Bodhgaya several times before. [...]