Learning with Manjushri

Dharma under the lens

Friday, 22/10/2010 - 2:24pm

At last week’s Chinese Manjushri Class, Kechara inMotion’s (KIM) head of department Liaison Han Siew Fong and staff Jace Chong [...]

Comments Off

Why we pray to statues

Wednesday, 6/10/2010 - 11:36pm

At last week’s Manjushri Class, Lili Ng shared that in actuality, we do not pray to the brass, wood, silver [...]

A tweet today for enlightenment!

Tuesday, 28/9/2010 - 11:28pm

Being a modern Spiritual Guide, His Eminence Tsem Tulku Rinpoche uses various skilful means to spread Dharma to all those [...]

Comments Off

An afternoon with the Kechara Care Bears

Monday, 20/9/2010 - 12:13am

There was something a little different in Manjushri class a week ago – an afternoon with Kechara Care (KC), the [...]

Comments Off

How do I get respect from my peers?

Tuesday, 14/9/2010 - 1:57am

My colleagues don’t respect me, my family doesn’t respect me, my Dharma brothers and sisters don’t respect me – how [...]

Comments Off

How not to be a lazy Dharma practitioner

Monday, 6/9/2010 - 4:21pm

At last week’s Manjushri class we had David Lai sharing an interactive session with everyone on what it means to [...]

Comments Off

Lessons on a Perfect Teacher

Tuesday, 31/8/2010 - 6:38am

For a change, there was a screening of the documentary, Words of My Perfect Teacher, which is about Dzongsar Khyentse [...]

Comments Off

Are you smarter than Manjushri? A quiz!

Wednesday, 25/8/2010 - 4:53am

Taking a break from the usual discussion and sharings, David Lai led a super, energetic quiz! With a broad range [...]

Comments Off

Lamrim in a blog

Tuesday, 17/8/2010 - 9:22pm

Whoever thought that all the wise words of Atisha, Tsongkhapa and Pabongkha Rinpoche could be so cleverly condensed into the [...]

Comments Off

An offering of light at Chinese Manjushri Class

Monday, 16/8/2010 - 11:39pm

When I was a small child, my mother liked to bring me to the temple to pray and offer candles [...]

Comments Off

Thinking like a Buddhist

Wednesday, 11/8/2010 - 12:24am

This week Mr Ngoew shared with us His Eminence Tsem Tulku Rinpoche’s Karma Chart. Giving a very detailed and clear [...]

Comments Off

Ghostly encounters at Chinese Manjushri Class

Thursday, 5/8/2010 - 1:51am

Last Friday, our weekly Chinese Manjushri Class aimed to give attendees a new perception of the Hungry Ghost Month. Our [...]

Comments Off

I am in love

Sunday, 1/8/2010 - 8:40am

David gave a talk called “I am in love” and explored six special ingredients for staying in love! Over years [...]

Comments Off

I am new to Dharma!

Sunday, 25/7/2010 - 5:20pm

Liaison Jamie Khoo the “oldie” paired up with new (but very active) member Andrew Boon to talk about what it [...]

A Sacred Lineage

Wednesday, 21/7/2010 - 1:33pm

There was a bit of a stir when an invitation came to spend a Sunday afternoon with two of the [...]

Comments Off

Even existing is creating negative karma

Monday, 12/7/2010 - 1:06am

First of all, the book Snakes, Roosters and Pigs is not about the zodiac, Feng Shui or even zoology. It [...]

Comments Off

Shopping heaven

Sunday, 4/7/2010 - 6:24am

On the last weekend of June, May Woo of Kechara Paradise joined Manjushri class to talk to us about the [...]

Comments Off

A Dummies Guide to Kechara Paradise

Thursday, 1/7/2010 - 7:56am

Last Sunday saw a very special class based on a recent teaching that His Eminence Tsem Tulku Rinpoche had given [...]

Comments Off

The two wings you need to fly: Compassion and Wisdom

Wednesday, 23/6/2010 - 5:07pm

Compassion, wisdom and renunciation are very big words. Sometimes it’s difficult to feel connected with them. Is it even possible [...]

Simply Setrap

Thursday, 3/6/2010 - 10:07am

To explain the often mysterious Dharmapala Setrap practice to the retreat participants, Liaison Sharon Saw gave a brief overview about [...]

Comments Off

A Tweet a Day Keeps the Obstacles Away!

Wednesday, 26/5/2010 - 9:57am

Due to popular demand, we brought back to Manjushri Class a sharing session on His Eminence Tsem Tulku Rinpoche’s “tweets” [...]

Comments Off

My Story: A Sharing of Experiences in Dharma

Tuesday, 18/5/2010 - 2:09pm

Dharma is a word that seems to conjure up a myriad of images in our heads but more often than [...]

Comments Off

The Paramita of Giving in Action: Kechara Soup Kitchen

Thursday, 13/5/2010 - 11:41am

As a part of our new series of guest speakers from Kechara departments, last Sunday featured an afternoon with Ruby [...]

Comments Off

Buddhism and Statistics: The Precious Human Life

Wednesday, 5/5/2010 - 11:23am

Not only is being born as a human in the six realms of existence very fortunate but when we compare [...]

Comments Off

Finding Wealth with the Buddha Dzambala

Wednesday, 28/4/2010 - 11:10am

On the Sunday before our Dzambala retreat began, David Lai led a class on the practice of Dzambala.

Comments Off

Ladrang Lessons

Thursday, 15/4/2010 - 1:04am

Last Sunday at Manjushri Class offered a little somethin’ different to the regular participants when Liaison JP Thong came to [...]

Comments Off

Celebrating the Legacy of Our Ancestors

Tuesday, 13/4/2010 - 1:19am

Last weekend was Qing Ming and in line with this, at Manjushri Class that day, David Lai spoke about spirits [...]

Comments Off

How Do You Even Know You’ve Received a Blessing?

Tuesday, 6/4/2010 - 3:31pm

What is a blessing anyway? And how do you know you’ve received one? Do you start seeing rainbows? Receive miraculous [...]

Comments Off

Pick: How a Little Game Can Help You Get Over Your Hang-Ups

Tuesday, 30/3/2010 - 3:39pm

Last Manjushri class saw something a little different: playtime and a unique little game that got everyone thinking.

Comments Off

An Afternoon with the Bliss Queen

Wednesday, 24/3/2010 - 12:02pm

What could be more captivating to talk about on a Sunday afternoon than the Bliss Queen herself – Vajrayogini?

Comments Off

The Seven Limbs

Tuesday, 16/3/2010 - 3:36pm

The best treatment is from the doctor, who is the Buddha. The best medicine is the Dharma and the best [...]

Comments Off

Tsem Tulku Tweets

Tuesday, 9/3/2010 - 5:12pm

Pass the hat, take a dip and get a magical quote from His Eminence Tsem Tulku Rinpoche’s Twitter!

Comments Off

Body, Speech and Mind: Learning to Prostrate

Wednesday, 3/3/2010 - 6:57pm

In last week’s Manjushri Class, we discussed why, when, where and how prostrations are carried out in Kechara

Comments Off

Personal Experiences of Dharma

Tuesday, 9/2/2010 - 11:02pm

We had a very special Manjushri class last Sunday, with authors Jamie Khoo and David Lai there to discuss their [...]

Comments Off

Letting Go of All the Rubbish

Monday, 25/1/2010 - 7:34pm

This week at Manjushri Class, we started by watching a teaching which Rinpoche gave about letting go and offering away [...]

Comments Off