Lamrim and Life

Ten steps to happiness (Part 7)

Tuesday, 26/7/2011 - 12:50pm

When our world falls apart, when we suffer loss, when it seems everyone is turning against us, we have to [...]

Comments Off

Ten steps to happiness (Part 6)

Friday, 8/7/2011 - 3:14am

Understanding that the good fortune we are presently enjoying is the result of the practice of generosity in the past, [...]

Comments Off

Ten steps to happiness (Part 5)

Saturday, 28/5/2011 - 12:50am

We have to stop thinking about the wall in front of us, and look at the space behind the wall [...]

Ten steps to happiness (Part 4)

Thursday, 12/5/2011 - 12:28pm

Life in the context of Buddhism means past, present and future lives. Remembering life means learning from the past in [...]

Comments Off

Ten steps to happiness (Part 3)

Wednesday, 27/4/2011 - 4:21pm

We need to be mindful that although death is certain, the time of death is uncertain. Death can be just [...]

Comments Off

Ten steps to happiness (Part 2)

Friday, 18/3/2011 - 4:28am

Being unattached, we are ready for new and fresh experiences and discoveries…

Comments Off

Ten steps to happiness (Part 1)

Friday, 4/3/2011 - 12:51pm

Our spiritual path does not end until we are fully enlightened. Until then, it is a constant endeavour of study, [...]

Comments Off

Rock and not roll

Saturday, 19/2/2011 - 11:02pm

When we are faced with problems or difficulties, the first thought in our mind is to avoid them. This aversion [...]

Comments Off

Ignorance is (not) bliss

Monday, 7/2/2011 - 12:04am

The bliss of ignorance is a deception. In reality, what is merely a temporary reduction or postponement of one’s suffering, [...]

Comments Off

Impermanence need not be a bad thing

Thursday, 13/1/2011 - 1:32am

The biggest problem with failing to realise that all phenomena is subject to impermanence, is that it deceives us into [...]

Comments Off

A balanced mind

Monday, 27/12/2010 - 4:52pm

Dharma does not make us suffer. The fluctuations in our minds make us suffer H.E. Tsem Rinpoche When we work [...]

Comments Off

Don’t be a great pretender, be a real practitioner

Thursday, 9/12/2010 - 6:38pm

What constitutes pure motivation? Pure motivation is a mind free from the eight worldly concerns…

Comments Off

Taking refuge is to become a Buddhist, not a refugee

Wednesday, 24/11/2010 - 2:03am

Until we can perceive the Enlightened ones directly, the best teacher is our spiritual guide, the source of all good…

Comments Off

The agony + ecstasy of love

Tuesday, 9/11/2010 - 11:32pm

To give and receive love is one of the greatest joys of being human. Animals and other beings do not [...]

Comments Off

Think out of the box

Thursday, 28/10/2010 - 12:14am

When our minds are closed, we cannot learn from anyone and our learning curve plateaus and takes a dive. We [...]

Comments Off

Be a Dharma warrior, not an ostrich

Wednesday, 13/10/2010 - 9:17pm

On our journey to Enlightenment, we need to proceed in an organised and efficient manner. Mount Everest cannot be conquered [...]

Comments Off

Ethical living: Giving and taking

Wednesday, 29/9/2010 - 12:53am

The laws of karma is the law of cause and effect, whereby all our actions are the causes and our [...]

Comments Off

Back to school

Tuesday, 14/9/2010 - 2:19am

What is spiritual practice? The transformation of bad to good. His Eminence Tsem Rinpoche Generally, we can engage in spiritual [...]

The destructiveness of anger

Tuesday, 7/9/2010 - 3:54am

We may have knowledge and even teach Dharma. But are we humble and kind to everyone?

Comments Off

#29: The most beautiful mind of all

Tuesday, 17/8/2010 - 3:39pm

From our experiences, we know that despite our best intentions, we cannot really do much to benefit others. We may [...]

Comments Off

#28: Why Buddhahood?

Thursday, 12/8/2010 - 12:05am

It is very important for us to know why we want to become a Buddha. If you think it is [...]

Comments Off

#27: Altruism, the mother of superior intention

Tuesday, 3/8/2010 - 1:31am

It is easy for us to wish for all sentient beings to be happy or to recite a verse of [...]

Comments Off

#26: Compassion conquers all

Monday, 26/7/2010 - 2:57pm

All samsaric life is characterised by beings taking what they like from others, and giving things they do not like. [...]

Comments Off

#25: The power of imagination (Part 2)

Wednesday, 21/7/2010 - 3:37pm

First, we imagine exchanging places with someone who is of similar ability, intellect or status as ourselves. Next, we relate [...]

#24: The power of imagination (Part 1)

Tuesday, 13/7/2010 - 11:46pm

When we use our imagination to exchange our self with others, there is no danger or confusion because the exchange [...]

Comments Off